I can’t let them see me like this!

in #life6 years ago

River took me on a trip back to my childhood. When we pulled the curlers out of her hair, the curls were small, poofy and everywhere. “I can’t go to school like this,” she said. “I can’t let people see me!”

image

Friends, I knew exactly how she felt. I have cried many mornings over the state of my curls. When you are surrounded by peers with straight hair, curls are a novelty meant to be controlled. I told her not to worry. I used my fingers to in-clump her curls. I clipped the worst offenders into submission.

image

“You look like a doll,” her sister said.

image

She wasn’t convinced. She was afraid to walk into the school. But her peers and teachers loved her hair and she slowly began to smile.

image

How many scared hair days have I had in my lifetime? Enough to prepare me for today.

💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

Sort:  

That's the cutest thing I've ever seen! Not just the hair but the jacket and the ballet flats. She's stylin!

I know how it feels to fight with insecurities like this one, I have a daughter myself and I prepared her in advance but an every new day is a new challenge.

Kid’s got style. I dig it. 👍🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81