Set a personal record every day. Here’s how.

in #life6 years ago

Choosing to challenge ourselves is important for physical and emotional growth. I celebrate my personal records here a fair amount. The reason is that writing them out is accepting and owning them. By sharing, I am reinforcing the positive experience associated with pushing beyond my comfort level.

image
image made with WordSwag

Our brains love the rush of a job well done. I crave it. That rush trumps anxiety and depression, so I seek it out daily. Here are three ways to set a personal record every day and claim that endorphin rush for yourself.

* Do something new.

The first time you do something is a PR. An example from my life was working my way up to 15 standard burpees in a row. I started able to do three. Just like a plank or push-up challenge, I chipped away at burpees every day. I counted a PR each time I was able to complete the move as prescribed one more time. I did get to 15.

* Set other goals around your new practice.

In addition to growing my burpee stamina, I also set goals to complete 5 in 20 seconds. I can now do 6 in 20 seconds consistently. Also to complete X number Y days in a row. This is a fun cheat because I can reset the goal daily and just keep counting up. I’m around 2000 right now.

* Improve your already developed skills.

There’s nothing wrong with getting better at what you’re already good at. Push further and take account of your achievements.

Remember, you are doing this for yourself, so don’t forget to reward yourself for goals achieved. No matter how big or small the PR, you deserve to be celebrated.

Sort:  

A new day opens a new page in our life, so grab your tools and paint your story with beautiful colors such that when you look back you can smile and say yes.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75