Thank you for fueling my feminist fire

in #life6 years ago

I just made it through all the Feminist Fire entries for the @teamgirlpowa poetry competition. If you somehow missed this awesome wordsmithing extravaganza, never fear! All the entries are resteemed in my feed. Take a scroll, read, upvote, show some love for writers who are choosing to be vulnerable not just through identifying with an unpopular label, but with women globally.

Being a woman challenges. There is no sweeping that under the rug. The collection of Feminist Fire poems exhibit a diverse array of experiences by and with women, from an ode to one's mother to recognition of female animal rape and enslavement. It's sad there is such a gamut to run, but these stories include rape, murder, survival and fear.

alexa-mazzarello-196473-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

Why "fire"? As @tessaragabrielle more eloquently stated, women are often silenced. I have been silenced. I am 36 years old and this is my first year choosing to speak up. For a time, I even recorded and shared my voice on dsound. That may seem simplistic to you, but I am a woman who was abused for having a vagina. A woman harmed repeatedly and by many for being a woman. As though I had a choice in the matter. As though I understood why my anatomy was objectionable.

I learned early to stay silent. To hold my fear and rage and sadness and every other emotion including joy in. It was okay to smile, but only when I was meant to be seen. Any large emotion meant I was hysterical, but how are we supposed to not have big responses when we are never taught to self-regulate, only self-silence?

A rift with my parents over femininity and my family's acceptance of it/expression of it grew my voice. Now they are silent (by their own choice) and I have shaken off the oppression of expectation from historical abusers. I am so proud to be part of a competition elevating the voice of feminism because it allows me to step into my own power. Special thanks to my co-judges @tessaragabrielle, @limabeing and @rachelhanson10. This is more than saying #MeToo (which I have done), this is asking what we are going to do about it.

Thank you to all the contributors. Happy reading!

Recent Posts

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Excellent post friend I congratulate you I think that women should be respected and no less precious because they think that women can be less than men but it is not so I as a man dare to say that women can come out later in life than a man. A lot more than a man can arise because of it there are macho cultures that less value women and that must stop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62