When Disability Stands in the Way of Best Day

in #life6 years ago

My body wants to push harder and harder in every workout. I try to be patient with my asthma. It closes my chest before I’m even breathing fire, before I’ve pushed hard enough to feel the burn. I often feel like asthma stands between me and success.

This is inaccurate. I could claim asthma slows my progress, but the fact is my progress is apparent and amazing despite my disability.

image

Today I am asking myself how I can be grateful for being forced to slow down. I wanted to RUN today instead of jog. I wanted to fly through my pull-ups and pushups without the bog of heavy air in my lungs. And my muscles were all for it, if only I could catch my breath.

There are techniques for staying in control of the breath. I will learn them. The time before asthma wears me will grow. I will get to run.

Not every day will be my best day, but I will do my best every day.

Sort:  

Keep spirit girl, I would like to be your friend and support you @shawnamawna :)

Not every day will be my best day, but I will do my best every day.

I really love this line.
Putting in all out on everyday basis is very needful even when there is a pointer that such a day will not be our best.

Hey @shawnamawna, Keep in mind this body is just your earth vehicle and it is not you. You are a badass, Super Woman and one of my mentors and sheroes. I don't reach out much so busy these days preparing to relocate but You are always in my heart. I remember watching one of your videos when you are describing a part of your journey and I sat there and cried because the video embraced so much of my feminine and I felt a kindred connection and a relief in knowing that there was another woman out there that understood the plight of the woman and the human being as well. I thank you for teling your story, whether its sunshine or clouds, whether is good bad or ugly. I will be holding the space for you through it all. Be strong Beautiful one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62449.43
ETH 3190.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81