When life hands you a load of laundry...

in #life6 years ago

Yesterday I put my head down and got through several backdated to do lists. Today I need to do the same. I’ve been behind for the last two months which has resulted in embarrassing mistakes in editing, among other areas. I strongly dislike the feeling of being behind, but such is the life of a mompreneur.

image
I am brightly dressed for success.

On my list today:

Drop the girls at school
Gym
Haircut
Visit my friend’s coffee shop and pay for the decaf she advanced me for my veterans’ Writing After War class
Wash the dog
Apply heartworm meds
Contact pet insurance about refund error
Answer comments on Steemit
Judge final Feminist Fire poetry entry
Send private coaching package details to inquiring client
Read and respond to 10 pieces
Take care of several emails
Prepare dinner
Housekeeping
Write two more Steemit posts
Pick up kids from school
Take child to therapist
Complete homeschool assignments with KID1

Meh. There’s more. Your list is probably pretty similar. As a mother who works from home, there is ALWAYS more to do. I didn’t even get into the details of two of my freelance gigs, or the fact that “housekeeping” could take a minimum of 4 hours, depending on my physical energy levels. As you can imagine, the last time my home was clean was when a newborn arrived. I paid @jealousyjane for that incredible service and am now trying to figure out how I can apply my work income to have her take over cleaning. Can I deduct that expense?

It is a challenge being a person who struggles to have others in her physical space. It makes asking for help quite difficult. Someone at my house “helping” has the potential to create more stress rather than less. I’d often rather sacrifice sleep or live in a mess than have to know there is another person in my space. It’s a bit funny because I write about such personal topics, yet am private and guarded.

I’ve mentioned lists are an excellent tool for me. I’ve made one here. What are some tools you use to keep yourself on track and lower your stress levels when life hits you with a busy grenade?

Happy Friday!

Sort:  

I start with 2 tacos and 4 cups of coffee then just start hacking away at the list. Being a guy I tend to be linear in doing things so seeing as you have posted your to-do list start at the top. Finish one item and move on to the next. Forget about everything else and just focus on the one item. Check it off, don't breathe, move on to the next item. Stop and eat lunch, take 30 minutes after to just be, then get back at it.
Good luck. Stay as focused as you can. It's a matter of getting your want involved. If you want the list done you will do it. You're a woman so I know you can.

Writing it all down helps me a lot like you too. Pen and paper can help but writing it on the computer or the phone does too..
I find though that pen and paper means you can be a bit more creative with it, whilst typing helps you get it all out faster.
Good work mama! You are doing way better than me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56