Wrecking Ball Winter Wednesday or Gift of Nature?

in #life6 years ago

I have this odd urge to sing the blues. This is unlike me, but here's the thing: my husband is sick in bed, two of my kids are on a two-hour delay, I had to cancel a second workout this week due to that delay, and my homeschooler is hungry but has grumbled about his food choices. When he doesn't eat, the world pays. Pretty sure "hangry" was coined at his birth.

simson-petrol-133138.jpg
Image Credit

Look, I drank a cup of coffee. I ate breakfast. I have the kids dressed and mostly fed. What I want right now is to climb back in bed because the sleep I got was good but not quite enough. Even the coffee isn't touching my sleepy eyes. And maybe I will sleep. Even though this day seems like a wrecking ball has already come through it, I have some choices.

I could complain and sing those off-key blues, or I could embrace the chaos. I love hugs. I choose to embrace.

The benefits of this include extra hours of amusement by my kiddos. My five-year-old is playing with LOL dolls, and it's freaking adorable. She is also wearing a cat ear headband and is prone to dancing with joy for every. little. thing. Her dances are the cutest. As I type, I'm listening to her talk to her dolls. She is incredibly creative and engaged. Because she does school full time and school leaves her tired, I don't get to enjoy her quite as much as I'd like.

There are many upsides to the wrecking ball of Winter roads. Sure, I may not get all my work goals completed today, and my night off may be postponed due to Nathan being ill, but overall I think more good will come from a rest day than bad.

Truly, I am looking forward to that nap.

What's on your calendar for today?

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this brief insight into your life. When I was reading it I was struck by how lyrical and natural your words sound; like you practice writing with intentional images often and it manifests in your musings, perhaps by habit now and without thought.

"As I type I'm listening to her talk to her dolls!" Wow! My mind blossoms with an image so vivid I feel like i'm sitting next to you.

This line read like a portion of a poem: "I could complain and sing those off-key blues, or I could embrace the chaos. I love hugs. I choose to embrace."

I want to hear you sing the blues! You started with that as an opening line, then come back to it referencing it later in your writing. Wow! I loved it. I smiled while reading.

Finally, I first had hints that you practice writing often with deliberate intent (and it shows up perhaps unintentionally when you're journalling) with this line, "Even the coffee isn't touching my sleepy eyes."

I felt like that is something I would write or think without saying aloud because people don't speak like that. Not aloud; much to my dismay.

All that to say, THANK YOU! I hope the family recovers quickly and well!

Two doctor appointments, picking up the munchkin from the kindergarten, playing with him, doing groceries, preparing the meals for the rest of the week, write something and meditate if I still have some time left.

Good post

Your relentless positivity in the face of adversity is truly a thing of beauty. My SO was recently sick, and then I got sick, and it was a spiral of ick. But now we're better. Plans for this evening and tonight are translation, writing tomorrow's daily post, and maybe some Dragon Age: Inquisition.

Those moments when we can shrug off adversity are so glorious. It's like winning a battle that seemed to have the odds stacked against us. Sometimes we are low on ammo, wounded and limited in options, but we fix bayonets and charge. Glad your day went well and that the little things that mean so much outweighed the plans, that while important, couldn't ever hope to give the raw joy of dancing kitten ears playing with her dolls. Well played.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67356.11
ETH 3500.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21