Don't get me started on: Crappy Wifi

in #life7 years ago

Don't get me started on crappy wifi.

I don't mean to be ungrateful or to even suggest that I could do better- if someone asked me to explain how wifi worked to them, I would literally not even know where to begin (it's insane how we take such complex, life-altering technology for granted these days).

But there are few things as infuriating as when that dreaded yellow triangle of death appears in the bottom right corner of your laptop. Never prior to these moments would I have ever considered testing whether or not my laptop would bounce if I hurled it out of my sixth-story window as hard as humanly possible, but I'll admit that slow wifi brings out a rage-induced scientist in me, ready to destroy anything and everything around me in the hope of distracting my internet-addict mind from the fact that my source of endless procrastination is temporarily out of action.

Like a junkie crawling back to the needle, so too will I drag myself towards the mysterious box that the internet magically floats out of, to maybe push the power button, unplug and re-plug a few cords and generally make myself feel like I am attempting to solve the problem. I might as well be gently humming Ave Maria while dousing the router in holy water for all the good it usually does.

And yet, as if by magic or divine intervention (or possibly the cable guy who was doing routine maintenance woke up from the sudden nap he didn't remember taking after being hit forcefully on the head by a rapid-moving, laptop-shaped projectile), that smug little triangle will suddenly and quite without warning disappear back to Purgatory or wherever the hell it lives when it isn't terrorizing me, and life will go on, my rage will dissipate like a summer rain on a sun-scorched desert, and all will be good in the world once again.

Well in my world anyway...

Sort:  

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75