A wonderful little castle close to my city: Villa Smilea

in #life5 years ago

When I was a little child I visited often my grand parents who lived in a village called Montale. Sometimes I was with them for weeks during the Summer and so my grand father used to walk with me around their village. There was a building, a fantastic buildig, that always catched my attention: a magical castle calle Villa Smilea! When I was a child, about 40 years ago, that building was closed and a bit abandoned, but fortunately now it's come back open thanks the municipality and from some years a lot of different event ave their place there ^_^

The name "Villa Smilea" come to the latin "sex milia" (don't worry! In latin the word "sex" is for six ^_^), the distance from it to my city Pistoia.

In the ancient time it was a fortress for the rich family of Panciatichi, but during the 1466 the Florentines took it away from that family to punish them because tha Panciatichi's family took part in the conspirancy against the famous florentine family of Medici!


I invite you to read more about the Villa Smilea in this interesting article in English: https://www.visittuscany.com/en/attractions/villa-castello-smilea/

I took these pics this morning, because I was close to this building, even if I had no time to visit inside of it, but I'll come back there in the next days so I culd share more pics of this beautiful building ^_^

See ya soon and steem on!

Silvia


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Never saw a castle like this before, surely it must have an unique design. Thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

It's quite interesting and beautiful architecture... reminds me both of a small castle, as well as perhaps a convent. Thank you for sharing your surroundings!

The first time I went inside of the room in this building was magical. Even if when I was a child I thought it was like a castle with a sleeping princess inside like in a tale, but after the renovation it looks like more similar to a sort of museum ^_^

wow it is like a fortress ...
I dont know the story but it looks like there was a lot of rivalry of power at that time...
a lot of daggers too...mamma mia! ;P

Yes, the history of my region tell us a lot of fights between the rich families, especially around the Medici's family :D Bloody times.

"quel ch'e' mio e' mio e quel ch'e' tuo e'...mio"
said the Godfather
:D gotta love the italians ...kinda, ;)

A beautiful place lovely architecture. Thanks for sharing Silvia

I'd like to see inside that building Silvia.

The next time I'll took also some pics of the rooms inside of it. I went there for some events a couple of years ago and some corners looks really fantastic, even if I prefer the fortress of Santa Barbara, an ancient fortress close to my home where we can really feel the atmosphere of a medioeval age ^_^

I'll settle for photos from both. =)

An interesting castle that you do not see every day.

Greeting @ bigrobi

Congratulations @silviabeneforti! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 47000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94