About friendship and other things

in #life5 years ago

I'd like to show you some progress of my new soft sculptures, but I can't do it, because  in the afternoon I had to pause my work for some hours and so I'll work on it after dinner. 

I paused what I'm doing because I received a phone calling from my friend Elena and listening a sad sound on her voice I decided to go to her for a little bit, because sometimes an artwork can wait more than the need to support a friend. Elena is a widow from 8 months and, as you can understand, she's really sad. Believe me, sometimes it's not simple to find the right words to help a friend to stay up after a bad event like that, but I try to do it every time I feel she need it. She's a friend, I can say she's my best friend and I'd like to see a smile in her face, again. It's soon,  I'm pretty sure it's too soon to see again her smile, but she's a very strong woman and I'm proud to be one of her friend.

It's the first time I wrote here about this, because I love to share happy, cute things, but now it's time to write something about what happened. Me and my hubby met Elena and her hubby Sergio about 6 years ago, thanks their bookshop. We started our friendship almost immediately and it was a great, warm friendship. Just to know, they were with us during our wedding day. Sergio had a lot of common interests with my hubby and Elena  was very similar to me: same passions, we both love cats and a similar behaviour in the social relations.

Sergio and Elena were really a nice couple and each of them love the other like the first times, even if they were married from about 20 years.

Sure, we were really friends. 

About 8 months ago, Sergio started to be in pain and after just few days he died. You can image the sadness, a lot of sadness. Everyone knew him was bad surprised and very sad. Elena was strong, she seemed very strong during those days, she needed to seem strong, but the pain was and is so much. 

We started to stay very close to her, but, sure, respecting her feelings and her need to stay alone sometimes. She knows we are a sort of "support" for the bad moments, we try to help her to stay up talking about funny things or simply listening her emotion. I'm a woman who don't love so much to "touch" other people, but when she need an hug, I'm ready to give her my best warm hug. I always try to give her my best smile and my best warm words, but she doesn't know (and she haven't know) that while I'm doing this, my heart is crying.

It's like when you get an heavy thing from the hands of someone and you have to take it in a place far from her/him. After you did it, you need to rest for a bit to recharge your energy. The same in this case. I try to get her sadness and take it far from her, but after I need to recharge my energy.

(in the pic: a composition I made some years ago using old part of destroyed books and pieces of wood)

I'm sure Elena will be better in time, but I'd really like to put away every sad thought from her because I know Sergio (wherever he's resting now) would like to see a smile on her face and a brilliant light in her eyes, again and again.

Sorry to write this sad post, but I really needed to put away from me a bit of sadness. Now I'll work for a bit of my soft sculptures, so I could find my happy thoughts, the same I had in the morning.

See ya tomorrow,

Silvia



silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Hello @silviabeneforti, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks so much!!!! ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

It is wonderful that she has you as her pillar of support, but as you said, you also need to recharge your energy, because positivity and empathy are not limitless energy, in actuality, they are often in short supply.
                   
It's alright by me if you share stuff like this from time to time, I think it's good and healthy :).

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.11% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Life is sure not happy all the time and we can only be here for each other when our friends are down. I think you are so wonderful to provide yourself as her shoulder-to-cry-on <3 I do hope you will recharge your spirituality also because being the one to rely on does take a lot out of people...

Sending my best thoughts to you and to Elena, as well <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99