Jump in the past: Sapphire and Steel

in #life6 years ago

Today, before the dinner, me and my hubby had fun singing some (old) songs. Sometimes it happens, but don't worry, I sing just when we are alone at home ^_^

We sang different songs by different artists, from Leonard Cohen to Beatles, just to spend a couple of hours of this hot Sunday. We also sang Scarborough Fair, an English song that I like so much and when we were singing it I thought about another traditional English song that I love since I was a child: Greensleeves! 

Greensleeves is a song that touch me every time I hear it. It's not for the text, but it's because it reminds me my childhood even if I can't exactly remember the reason. That sounds, that music was in my mind for many year, but until to meet my hubby I didn't know the name of that song. My hubby, fortunately, is a man that collect many many infos in his mind and so when I asked to him about the melody that I had in my mind from many years, he said me "The title is Greensleeves" and he also played it with the guitar. After, I married him (just to know ^_^)!  

I think that sng reminds my childhood because of some old tv series.

You have to know that when I was a child in the italian television we watched many English Tv Series (translated in Italian, sure ^_^) and I had a passion for Sapphire and Steel! I was about 10 years old  and after more than 35 years I remember the emotions that I felt watching the episodes (and I also remember a part of the stories ^_^). I think I heard the Greensleeves for the first time in one of those episodes, but I'm not so sure. If some of you remeber that tv series or an old tv series (I talk about '70-'80) where the song was, please tell me, so I can quiet my curiosity ^_^

Sapphire and Steel (1979/82) was a SF series starring David McCallum (Dr. Ducky in NCIS ^_^) and it talks about a couple of interdimentional operatives (Sapphire and Steel) engaged to be the guardians of time and the space-time. They are not humans, but elements that can assume human form to investigate on strange events on the Earth.   

It was really a well done series and I'll search the old episodes to see them again ;)

Well, it's time to say my "goodnight!",

see ya tomorrow!

Silvia



silvia beneforti

Sort:  

I do remember S&S but looking at the clip, doesn't it look so cheesy now! Still they are good too look back on. I have watched full series from the 70's and 80's before now.

Yes, looking the clip now it doesn't look so cheesy, but it can be a good exercise to improve my English watching the episodes in the original language :D

It is always good to remember the past and more when they are such good songs

I agree, dear friend ^_^

Music refreshes old memories, even though old memories are fresh by looking at photos, but they only remember the scene of that time, but a sweet melody of old music just goes into the ears, in heart a strange joy comes.
For a while, we get drowned in the sweet thoughts of the past.
Unintentionally leaves a sweet smile on our face, sometimes the heart says that maybe those days would have returned,and we got another chance to live that lives.
Good morning!
Have a nice day😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99