Living with Bipolar Disorder

in #life6 years ago

I have suffered from depression since I was 16, it's deeply unpleasant. In 2007 something strange happened to me. Following a particularly enjoyable event I started to feel uncontrollably euphoric this feeling lasted for 7 days I could barely sleep and started to write at a mammoth pace.

bipolar.jpg

Immediately my doctor referred me to a psychiatrist who diagnosed me with bipolar. Now we all have good days and bad but bipolar disorder is like the most extreme version of this imaginable. I know take mood stabilisers to balance my mood but the most effective thing I have found to help me is talking therapy. Alas in the UK funding for these services are at a very low ebb meaning that talking therapy is rare thing. Another helpful tool is a mood diary in which you write down your mood state and comment on your daily activities. This allows you to identify triggers that may cause a mood swing. A combination of these therapies do make a difference however when you have a condition like this it will reoccur. The best to view bipolar is to realise it is an illness and you aren't crazy, millions of people have the disorder, sometimes it can deeply affect ability to function but it is not the sufferers fault.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

It's great you have a coping mechanism. Understanding why you feel the way you do has a stabilizing effect. Some people have more trouble understanding, intellectually, what's happening to them. Does your art reflect your mood? It would be interesting to see how various moods states are expressed in your art.
Good you can write about this and share it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58