You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: Adding "Value" to the Steem Blockchain - Chapter 1

in #life6 years ago

Some very good food for thought, @roleerob.

” Reputation is increased from upvotes. Specifically, you can only gain rep when getting an upvote from someone of a higher or equal reputation score.”

Very important that we understand this. While I'm pretty sure I had read that somewhere early on, I am very sure it did not "sink in."

Same goes for me. I’m also pretty sure I “knew” this at one point, but somehow I forgot all about this.

When it comes to the time spent here, I’ve been ‘fortunate’ enough to have no job I need to be at, no kids and plenty of time on my hands during daytime - mainly because I’ve been recovering from surgery for the last couple of months. And even before that, SteemIt was a perfect way to escape what was going on in real life.
That’s where a big part of the value of the platform is in for me.

Also, I could never have imagined how strong the sense of community would be on here, and how many amazing people I would meet - and I’m still meeting new ones every day.

And of course there is also the financial value. As an investor, I still believe the price of Steem will go up significantly.

People who don’t realize that there’s a lot more to SteemIt than only the monetary rewards, often don’t last long on this platform.

On the other hand, once I will need to go back to having a daytime job, I’m not sure I will have the time or the energy to be very active here...

One last point

How do we measure the “weight” or the “value” of lending a helping hand and / or supplying a word of encouragement to our fellow man?

I guess we can’t. Only a couple of days ago I was (again) confronted with the fact that we often don’t have a clue of how (small) things that we do or say here can have a huge impact on others. My name was mentioned in a post by a fellow Steemian, in which he thanked me for being such a big help when he just started out. I don’t even remember doing anything special except for using my normal words of encouragement, but apparently those had been of great value for him. To be honest, it was very nice to find out, and gave me a boost to keep going again :0)

Sort:  

Good morning @simplymike! Before 🌄, "in here" doing what I can, before heading off to my "day job" ...

Before "hanging it up" last night, I upvoted your comment, but was too tired to do justice to any kind of reasonable response to it, given the investment of time you clearly put into it.

I really appreciate it!!

"... mainly because I’ve been recovering from surgery for the last couple of months ..."

Very sobering reminder of what some people are going through. I know in my life, I get frequent opportunities to say, "I don't write the script, for if I did, I can assure you it wouldn't be playing out like this ..." My hope for you, all things considered, is you are recovering well and, looking back, it will have all been "worth it."

We never know, going forward, why things happen the way that they do. We can only respond to it the best way possible and hope eventually to be able to answer “what that was all about?” as a “learning opportunity” for whatever is coming next …

Your last paragraph is perfect. New to being “online,” I have been blessed a little bit with this myself. A great example was the recent comment to one of my posts from @sniffnscurry. Very few words. Great impact …

There's "resteeming," then there's whatever we would call what @headchange’s post has inspired me to do - write my Reflections: Curation and Pollination post last night.

Resteeming has its place, no doubt. But it lacks, at least for me, the "personal touch" of simply being able to let your followers / supporters know what you found of value in what you are bringing to their attention. No way I can do it all the time, but elected to do it this time, given what this experience has represented for me.

All the best to you, for a bright new day!

[Psalm 118:24]

Thanks, @roleerob.
As with all things in life, I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to look back on these last 6 months (and those that are yet to come) and be thankful for this awesome learning experience. But that something that only comes afterwards, once you’re out of trouble and can see things in the right perspective again.

I completely agree on the resteeming feature. It would add a lot of value if there would be an Opportunity to add a short personal note to let readers know why you think a post was worth resteeming. Who knows, maybe we’ll get that extra feature somewhere along the way... :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89