My Mentor : Datuk Mohammad Nor Khalid (a.k.a. Lat)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Every boy has their hero. I am no exception. My hero is not Ironman or Superman. I love to look at Wonder Woman and Catwoman but my inspiration cames from an ordinary man with an extraordinary talent for storytelling through art. He is Datuk Mohammad Nor Khalid or we know all know him better as Lat.

My First English Comic


‘Kampung Boy’ (Village Boy) was the first comic book that I read. At that time, I did not understand a single word of English. I was 7 years old. I remember forcing my sister to translate for me, but I believe she didn’t. She merely explained the story through the visuals drawn.

In our family, not many of us speak English. One of the reason I strive to improve my command of English was because of Lat. I took extra lessons in English and even bought an English dictionary to help me understand the words that I do not understand from the book.

If Jacky Chan learnt English from singing, I definitely learnt English from comics.

What Makes Lat Special


Lat is almost synonymous with Malaysian comic industry. He is our benchmark for success. Through his illustration, he portrays the Malaysian way of life authentically. All the lines and details are uniquely his. His drawing shows that Malaysians regardless of race or religion do live peacefully and harmoniously. It is his gift of bridging us together that helps us define our unique culture of being one.

He is my inspiration and my mentor in the art of cartooning. Pure genius.


04Lat.jpg

My caricature of the man himself.

03Lat.jpg

Lat's work.

01Lat.jpg

Me and Datuk Lat

02Lat.jpg

Datuk Lat and HRH Sultan of Selangor at Galeri Prima where the Sultan stores his private art collection.

05Lat.jpg

Me presenting my caricature of Lat to the man, the icon, my mentor.

Sort:  

Lat's work managed to capture the spirit of Malaysia and that is precisely why he is so loved by Malaysian of all races. I am part of Team Malaysia too and am from Kuching. Following you now.

Indeed... nice knowing you and thanks for following me... I'm following you back... cheers!

I am glad that we make the connection. I hope that these tips will help you get started.
Newbie Nuggets: How To Make Succeeding At Steemit Fun

I love Kampung Boy too!

I have not come across one Malaysian who doesnt.

I used to see Datuk Lat at my hometown in Ipoh. Cool guy

He is...he is super chillax

send my regard next time you see him... haha.

I simply find it interesting to know where people learn English from. Like most parents would say, they learn it from reading. My dad grew up in a very Cina family where no one knew a single word of English. Along with my aunt and uncle when they were young, they used to read lots of books, borrowed from a 'librarian' that will cycle around their neighborhood with plenty of books in a box that is hook onto the bicycle.

I salute my Malaysian chinese friends... they at least understand 3 languages... and me still struggle with two... :)

Ahhh... Janji faham can already

Hahaha... true...

Hehe... My sis got an autograph from him when we, the family, bumped into him at the old Coliseum restaurant in Jalan T.A.R. :) Love his cartoons since his NST days....

One of the reason we read papers...for LAT

Yeah, when the papers come... look forward to his cartoon! :D

Sadly... He is retired from drawing for newspaper now...

Yes... :( And I also stopped reading the NST... sighhh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80