AT THE ATM

in #life6 years ago

Credit 

So I was standing at the ATM queue today hoping to withdraw some cash. Two men were behind me on the queue. In less than five minutes, a lady walked towards the men behind me and asked the last man on the queue "SORRY, PLEASE ARE YOU THE LAST PERSON ON THE QUEUE" Then the man replied almost shouting at the top of his voice "God forbid, I shall not be the last but the first".

I was just standing and watching the drama the man was performing and it got me wondering why people think in such manner. The question was "are you the last person on the queue? " for God's sake. Nobody is placing a curse on you. After a while, I was forced to ask the man "sir, how else would you have preferred her to ask you this question " and the man couldn't say anything reasonable. He kept parambulating on the fact that there is power in the tongue bla bla bla. 


That was definitely not the first time I'ld be experiencing a situation like that at the ATM so I wasn't too surprised but I just couldn't understand why people take the question so personal. Sometimes, when you even ask some other people this same question, they'll just act dumb or pretend they didn't hear you. 


Credit 


Another thing that got me thinking from the lady's question was the reason why she added "sorry" to her question before asking. Did the man fall down? This habit is very common among us in this part of the world and I don't really blame us for it because the default mood most us are in is "Angry". Angry at the government, angry with the bank, angry at our bosses. So you just have to kinda first apologize for the default angry mood the person is in before asking any question. 


But as angry as we are, we should know that the anger would change nothing. Or can anyone tell me how anger has positively changed or resolved any situation? Start changing what you're angry about if you can and if not, just let it go. If your boss is getting on your nerves, quit your job and get another one. Lol 😀 I know that's not easy right; because jobs are actually very scarce. But my point here is; those things you can hardly change do not deserve you to waste your emotions on them.

Sort:  

Lol! We are angry by default.
The country is frustrating.

I know right? Very frustrating

Most Nigerians are always in"default mood as a result of high rate of poverty in the country and over religiousity' which has led to wide misinterpretation of things in life. We need serious change of attitude.

Very correct sir. Thanks for your input

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59