A stream on Addiction

in #life5 years ago

Screenshot_20190608-124015.png
When you find your breathe, Does it bring a smile to your face? My own experience is that it does, it's exciting when I catch myself mindfully listening to my own in and out flow. I'm not a walking hardon for mindfulness and my practice is a bit... Needing refinement. Knowing our own flaws is our greatest strength after all. With this post starting off beautifully, now let's talk about something that isn't making things easier for myself ... I need to quit smoking cigarettes. Now, smoking addiction goes against all that is mindfulness, as that's the trap..... Smoking is driven by two things IMO... Boredom and Shame. Either of those two emotions, and you'll find yourself fiending for one more fix... But why? Lack of Nicotine also makes us feel hungry, and also replaces the natural 'hunger' feeling with that thirst for nicotine... So now it's boredom, shame and hunger that promotes the smoking... Fancy this idea, people don't want to be around smokers for a variety of reasons, that aversion, breeds more shame, and in addition, loneliness. Loneliness is the brother of boredom. So guess what happens? Another reinforcement of "just keep smoking"... Anyways, just some food for thought,... Have a beautiful day, and think about the cause and effect of your addiction... Do you have any addictions that are a direct contradiction of what you project outwardly as who you are?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94