Writers who I admire: Stephen King

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Source

Hello Friends.  This is my very first post in here. I'm a writer. Simple as that. But Also I really like to read. Like a lot. I just enjoy good storys. And I wanna share that with you guys. So, I'm gonna start a new section for mi blog call "Writer who I admire" and today I'll be talking about the first one, the amazing Stephen King. So, let's get start it.

Most of you have to know who Stephen King is. He is the author of books like: Carrie, The Shinning, 11-22-63, Cujo, Misery, Pet sematary, and of course IT. Just to mention some of them. A man with a good taste for mystery and horror. He just makes a Bestseller every book that he touch. Well, The first time that I hear about him I was 14. I just really like the way he play with words and stories. I can't tell you what is my favorite book about him. Because, there are more then one. 

A Storyteller

Source

If I have to mention a very valuable advice given by Stephen King it would have to be this: "Write for you" a small but powerful advice he gave in the book "While I write" published in 2000. He tells us that we should not worry about the people. No matter what are you writing in your story. The only person who should be happy with the result is you. Only you. So, if you like to write for fun you can do it forever. He also mentioned that young writers should read y write a lot. Just to gain some good experience for ourselves. 

Diversity has always been Mr. King's main course. No matter how boring or simple a story sounds to others, if Stephen King likes it will be published. And this is a very curious fact that reminds me of his time writing Carrie. For those who don't know, Stephen King had so many problems to publish his first novel "Carrie". No publisher wanted to take the risk of buying the copyright, because they thought that Carrie would be a resounding failure. But he never give up. 

"Carrie was written after Rosemary's Baby, but before The Exorcist. Who really opened the field for this kind of book. I didn't expect much from Carrie, I thought Who would want to read a book about a poor girl with menstrual problems? I could not believe that I had written it. 

You see? We all have doubts about our work at some point. The important thing is learn to trust ourselves. The good thing is the book have a happy ending after all. Carrie was published in the USA  on April 5, 1974. The hardcover version sold about 13,000 copies, while the rough version, published a year later, sold more than 1 million copies in its first year. Making Stephen King a millionaire. So, Are you ready to believe in your dreams?

'Be delightfully, unapologetically weird'

Source

If there's something I've always liked about King's interviews, it's his simplicity and the natural way he declares that being weird is what makes you unique and 'unpleasant'. So, if as a child you felt bad because everyone in your school told you that you were "Weird" don't worry, many of us have gone through that, and believe me, that's your true essence. The important thing is to accept that state. And be around people who really love and support you. 

Stephen King Books that you HAVE TO read

Source

So, If you came to this part of the post it means that you really like Stephen King. That's why I want to talk now, about my experience with his novels. And recommend some of them that I'm sure, you'll love them. Let's get start it

1) The Shinning

Source

Well, what can I tell about this master piece? A man who got insane while he is with his family in the Hotel Overlook for work, on winter time, because the Hotel have to close it doors for  the constant and heavy snowfalls that make very hard to offering services to its customers. If you ask me If I like the movie? the aswer is NO. Yeah I know, Stanley Kubrick was a genius, and Jack Nicholson is amazing as Jack Torrance. But, the story and the characters that the movie shows are not so into what is really happening in this hotel. You can see in the book that the ghosts and the hotel took the valued that they deserved better. But again, is just my opinion. Besides that, the kid Danny Torrance is my favorite character of this novel. So, you won't regret if you start this book right now. 

2) 11-22-63

Source

I know. It's "weird" but truly if one of my favorites books from Stephen King. You see the picture and you can tell right over   what is this story about. On November 22, 1963, three shots resounded in Dallas. President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What would you do if you could prevent it? That's it. A man that can travel time. And he have to stay in the past till He can help President Kennedy to survive. Amazing, at least for me. 

3) Sometimes They Come Back (Short story)

Source

I really enjoyed this short story. It was a solid spooky storyline. Plus the twist at the end is magic. You know this book is like a "typical" Hign School story. Simple but Scary. I remember watching the movie as a child. And I  just Love it. If you wanna read something good, and fast, this is your book.

4) Room 1408 (Short Story)

Source

'1408' is the number of a hotel room that is haunted, but the owners of the hotel doesn't want to close it to pretend that nothing happens. In that room 56 people have died, many of them because of suicides. Michael Enslin, writer of books about enchanted places, receives a postcard that tells him not to enter the room. So, he just decide to get in. A mean, I know, the movie is way better right? But I just love the stories about Haunted Hotels, so I really like this book. 

5) IT

Source

Who or what mutilates and kills the children of a small American town? This is magic, and epic by far. The movies, yeah it's fine. But this book is wat better. The place where all this happens? Derry. After twenty-seven years of tranquility and remoteness, an old childhood promise makes some friends return to the place where they lived their childhood and youth as a terrible nightmare. We all know it. So, if you haven't read yet this book. What are you waiting for? It will took you time, for sure but it would be so freakin worth it.

Honorable mentions

I wanted to place at least two honorable mentions because, although there are not my favorite books. I had a pretty nice time while reading these amazing stories as well. 

6) Misery

Source

7) Pet Sematary 

Source


Well, that's a wrap for this article. Like I said about the books before, is just my opinion guys. You can read whatever you like. Let me know if you enjoy this article, and please give me some ideas about other authors that you would like to see in this section of the blog. Can't whait for your comments. Thank you so much for your time.

Have a good life...

Don't forget to (Upvote - Follow - Comment) 

- SocialGirl. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73