Five (5) Time determinants

in #life5 years ago

Time is never determined by wrist watches or clocks. Time is determined by your psychological condition at a particular time and your feelings. Time, they say wait for no one. Time doesn’t really have a specific definition.
84719A70-8FD3-44DE-B6DE-4D4EAC211602.jpeg
http://news.mit.edu/2017/networks-neurons-stretch-compress-control-timing-1204

Time definition depends on you, your mood, environment, activities, actions etc. you might be wondering what/how I meant, don’t be surprised at the following revelations about time definition.

  • Time is endless when in pain:
    Some years back, July 2003 to be specific, I had toothache, though I’ve been feeling it then but the pain wasn’t that severe. So on that fateful day, I slept normally at the normal time after normal day activities, then around 1:25am, I started feeling very severe pain in my tooth. I must confess that that’s the longest night I’ve had in my entire life till date. The pain was so much that I was praying for the time to be very fast but to my surprise, the time was slower than the snail, it was as if the time is deliberately moving slowly.
    You’ll not believe this, but from 1:30am, I was in pain for more than 5 hours but when I checked the time, it was just 2:06am. Then I said to myself that something is definitely wrong with the time.
    509927B6-FF11-4E59-A8F9-26888EFC28AE.jpeg
    https://www.alamy.com/stock-photo/slow-time.html

  • Time is very fast when you’re late:
    I was supposed to be at the board meeting at my office last month, so I prepared all night for the meeting because I’m to give some explanation on what we’re working on to the board.
    I slept very late around 3:00am and woke up very late by 8:46, despite the fact that my alarm was set to 7:30am, when I woke up to realize I was late already, I rushed to have my bath, dressed up and pack all what I was working on, then I checked the time on my phone only to see it’s already 9:10 and two missed calls from two of my bosses. I dashed to the car hurriedly, drove down to the office which usually is 15 minutes drive from my house only for me to get to the office by 10:21am. Meanwhile the meeting started by 9:00am.
    83E36755-7035-4444-95D8-13967822BB15.jpeg
    https://ui-ex.com/explore/hurrying-clipart-work/

  • Time is slow when you wait:
    When I was still searching for jobs some years back, my dream has always been to lecture. I submitted my application/cv here and there and I was to go for an interview by 9:00am, though the venue of the interview was not so far from me, but I always love leaving my house to go for an appointment like some hours earlier than the scheduled time. So I left my house 7:30am and I got to the venue of the interview exactly 8:11am. I walked around the place to get used to it and when it was the time for the interview, we were told that the MD insisted that he must be present at the interview but the MD is not around yet, so we had to wait. The time was so slow that I was about telling the lady attending to us that I want to leave, only for me to check the time and I realized that it was just 9:50am. I’ve waited for 59 minutes and it seems like 5 hours.
    BC1066E6-1825-45B2-A4BF-0CFA96B723A6.jpeg
    https://www.alamy.com/stock-photo-snail-pulling-clock-slow-time-concept-132602856.html

  • Time is long when you’re bored:
    When one is bored, time seem to stop working. I had an experience of this when I was on leave some years back, I was home alone, single and bored. The two weeks leave seems like 2 years leave. I had to be going to the office to help out once in a while.
    786C21D2-835E-4CCC-BF98-B6230B1184CF.jpeg
    https://www.jobstreet.com.ph/career-resources/time-management-make-waiting-time-productive

  • Time is fast when you’re having fun or happy:
    This is when you hear yourself or other people say how time flies.
    I went to China in year 2015, I went for two weeks tour in China. I must confess that I had the maximum fun I can imagine. I enjoyed myself that the two weeks seem like 2 hours (I’m not exaggerating). Till date, I still feel like someone deliberately went to make the clock 10,000 times faster. Before I knew it, I was in Muritala Mohammad airport in my state. The fun I had is not what I can describe, but the time spoilt the fun.
    D4609B3E-403D-4942-A7AD-3E1E4FDDD789.png
    https://www.agoodwaytothink.com/articles/fast-time/
    From all of these, I can conclude confidently that time is strictly determined by your mood and psychological conditions.
    Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @socketworld! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.
You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59