Say NO to suicide

in #life5 years ago

Last night, at about 11:42pm, while it was raining, I got a call from a lady, she got my contact from a friend (though I wasn’t bothered how she got it because my number is almost with everyone) After all necessary Intros and apologies for calling at that odd time of the day, she then said that there was a girl, not far from my place, that is already having SUICIDAL THOUGHTS and that I should help go to the girl's house to talk her out of it (I was so bitter because we’re just sorting the body of a young boy who failed JAMB and killed himself)
Honestly, the news was way too big for me to comprehend at the time...
Like what?
Someone wants to commit suicide?
In my environment?
The lady sent me the address of the girl almost about to attempt suicide via Whatsapp, and then text message immediately. While I was reading through the message, my brain seized for a moment...
Like really someone was going to kill herself?
My mind flashed back to different news I read online and the ones I hear about people who have committed suicide over something the rest of us term "TRIVIAL".
The superhero in me swung into action and i picked up shirt to wear, while I was in the process of wearing it, I heard a voice say "doesn't she have parents?"
Then it realized I didn't even ask if the girl in question lived alone or with he parents or with anyone.
Then I put a call through to the lady that called me earlier and I learnt that she was leaving with her parents. Then I told the lady on the other side of the call to reach the girl's parents, or a member of the family.
Then at about 12:06am, I got a call from the same lady that had called me the first time and this time, she told me the situation was now under control.
67B7FBB2-45C4-4EBE-B82B-DCA79541D92B.jpeg
Why have i decided to write this?
I want us all to learn a few lessons from this:

1.Depression is real: A lot of people are going through a whole lot. Things that ordinarily should not make people think/worry, let alone want to commit suicide. Please show people as much love as you can show them.
You don't know who might need that love to stay alive.

2.Consult God: Please and please, consult God before responding to emergencies, especially when it has to do with matters of life. I'm not saying you should embark on a 3 day dry fasting (at this point, the matter itself is no longer an emergency). Try as much as possible to be spiritually active to hear what God has to say about the situation.

3.Engaging people with suicidal thoughts: Never engage a person trying to commit suicide or having suicidal thoughts on your own (except you’re trained to do so) if such a person has family members. You'll be putting yourself in danger, if such person eventually commits suicide and you're now interrogated by the police. You'll have to answer ‘why didn't you notify any member of the family about the dire situation their child/sibling was going through’?
In my own case, i may not have to worry about this because God spoke to me and also because the girl is alive till this moment. Some other persons may not enjoy this grace and they may end up being punished for trying to save someone.

checking on one another: Lastly, Dear Parents, brothers, sisters, cousins, nieces, nephews, uncles, aunts, neighbours, church members, friends e.t.c., please check on that family member, that friend, that neighbor that you noticed a negative change in them. Ask people how they're doing, give those in need those things you have in excess, generally check up on people via visitations, calls, text mesages, whatsapp chats, Skype and so on.

Remember that DEPRESSION is the news around town now. People that you would not have thought could commit suicide are the ones taking their own lives.
Please show love
Thank you.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61