BEST

in #life6 years ago

PhotoGrid_1520240278516.jpg

Good, better, best,

I shall never rest,

Until my good is better,

And my better best!

I'd like to define better as the work process between good and best. A lot of people nowadays are okay with good. They've become used to the idea of living just a little above bad.

There was this one time I lived for good, especially in my grades at school. I had just started senior secondary school and as a science student, there was physics, chemistry and all what not. Physics was my 🤕 headache. So one afternoon, I talked with a former junior secondary school classmate about it and she said, "You are probably not going to get the hang of it, just pass your exams, that's the most important thing." I was happy that someone had voiced out what I had been thinking my entire junior secondary school long break. All I had to do was live a little above failure, be good. I didn't have to go through all that stress of working better to be best, in Nigerian Pidgin, who e help? (of what benefit is it?). I assure you, at the end of the term I had an average grade, compared to my previous grades. Do you know that my junior secondary school classmate was promoted on trial? The one that told me to work just to pass.

  • Your greatest challenge is not in choosing between good and bad, but between good and best.

–Myles Monroe

I remember my experience with this very brilliant pupil in my class called Adaeze, she would answer questions in class, was good in spelling and writing properly, did excellent homework but when it came to tests and the rest, she was unwilling to work out being the best, she'd say to me, "Miss Irene, I know that in this work I won't do too well so I won't even bother myself." At first I thought it was just all talk until I noticed that her scores in subjects where she made that remark was appalling. One day, I called her over to my table and gave her a little pep talk; from then on, she began to score perfect As in her test papers.

Good isn't enough until you make it best! Don't rest until you make that good better, and finally make it best!

p.s : am sorry i've not posted in a while, i've had school issues trying to survive on my own after undergoing an appendix operation, thanks to all my supporters out there, i would try to make posts on here as frequent as i can

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75