ThoughtWorks: Under Pressure

in #life6 years ago

Imgur

I decided to write this post because something unexpected happened to me during less than last 30 hours. I achieved something unbelievable, something created by me went viral in my hometown. I'm really happy about it, but as they say: "your success might become your stress." But let's start from the beginning...

Some of you might know that a lot of things in my life has changed during Pol'and'Rock Festival, but there are only few people from Steemit who know that I decided to do something to change as many things as possible in my hometown... I joined new political party as Audio/Video guy. And this is where all of this starts.

They sent me few audio recordings and raw video recordings to edit them and to montage a video for social media. It was really easy because candidate for a president of my hometown is really kind and open person and he is very confident in the front of camera. I sent it to guys from political party and it turns out that they love it!

I was really flattered to hear it. They posted that video on Facebook. It was even shared by the other candidate for a president. He commented that this video is really nice and joked about something. People on Facebook went nuts! Everyone started liking and sharing it. One hour later this video got status of "popular content in Lodz Voivodeship." It's been 27 hours since it was published and it has:

  1. 16 Comments
  2. 30 Shares
  3. 180 Reactions
  4. 6,481 Views

It basically means that it was watched just on Facebook by over 16% of people in my hometown and numbers are still growing! I've also got a lot of messages that it looks amazing. I'm shocked and flattered by all of this, but I'm also a little bit scared.

Why? Because I started from doing something what I like to do and now I'm under pressure... I feel that everyone expects that the next video edited by me will be at least as good as that one or even better. I don't like feeling like that. This is one of reasons why I decided to stay in shadow for a while when it comes to music. I need to take deep breath of being totally free from all of the reviews and expectations.

I used not to care about opinions, but something broke in my mind and I can't stop asking myself: "What if the next thing I will create will suck? What if I will never again be able to prepare something at least as good as that video? What will people say? What will my friends say? What will I think about myself?"

I don't know answers to any of these questions, but I know what I will do after my exams. I will turn off my laptop and mobile phone, I will pack some food and water into my backpack and I will go... I will take a break from all of these things. I will spend few days alone in the woods and later... Later, I probably will go to another city to take photos for SoundTrip series. Wish me luck to survive ;)

Do you wanna support me? Check out my Patreon!

Sort:  

Congrats dude. That's awesome!
It's so easy to doubt yourself but by the sounds of it, you got this. Just try not to listen to the chatter in your head. Easier said than done I know.
And trip away after all the craziness sounds perfect 👌

Thank you very much for support instead of telling me to enjoy this craziness :) I've already learned there are two voices in my head and only one of them is good. In this case, the bad one was speaking - screw him, I'm gonna spend time on trying to master my video editing skills.

Have a nice day ;)

Go for it, Tiger! 🐾

thanks for that story telling. It's interesting to see how that can affect people. But never take yourself too seriously ! I like comparing it to sports and more precisely running that I often do: when you manage to lower your heart rate, you manage to run more efficiently; even if it's a bit "unnatural" linked with how stressful you can feel, the best champions have that technique; and here we're only talking about "hometown fame"; come on that's not like you were on top of the charts ! I always want more, so I guess I'm never satisfied and dissatisfaction is my main engine. That's for my story. Are you a musician or a DAW type of producer ? I'm experimenting a lot with DAWs right now to find my own style, what we call "musical footprint", something that would make people think about me when they hear it; but I'm still experimenting. Using LMMS and FLstudio, Audacity; maybe you know them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66