You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drowning In Self-Pity... And Then There's SteemIt

in #life5 years ago

And then... just when I think everything is pointless, and my life has become worth next to nothing, I come across stories of other people here on SteemIt that make me realize things could be way, way worse and that I'm not in a position to feel like I feel.

I've had these thoughts often, also being limited by physical accidents and pain. Still, although I admire you want to pick up yourself after reading others stories, don't forget all your feelings are valid and allowed to be 'there'. It's true sometimes other stories are even worse but the truth is, that does not mean our stories are not 'bad'.

Just wanted to say you are allowed to feel like things are hard - and acknowledging things are hard (saying them out loud for example, something I've had to learn ;-)) can sometimes even be the most important step towards recovery.

Hugs, back pains suck (I have them today, they are tiring, and they are NOT as bad as yours, since I don't need surgery... But they are draining me so can't even imagine how you feel!) - and I hope the surgery will help you in some way <3

Sort:  

Thanks, @soyrosa.
It's a bit funny to hear someone else say to me the same thing I always say to others: we are taught to define things as 'worse' or 'less bad', but there is in fact no such thing. It's only your own experience that counts.
It's advice I give to others, but - as with most of the advice I have for others - I forget to apply it to myself. Thanks for the reminder.

Sorry to hear you're in pain too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87