Lesson #2 from my Daughter: Have Fun

in #life6 years ago

When my wife and I were expecting, I was so excited about all of the things I would one day teach my future daughter. While that excitement still remains, I have been pleasantly surprised to find out that I have much to learn from this little one.


Lesson 2: Have Fun

Life gets pretty crazy when you're an adult. Gradually, the time you used to spend building forts, collecting rocks, and playing games are replaced by doing taxes, fixing broken appliances, and driving through rush hour traffic. Life in general just becomes less and less fun.

When I am with my daughter, I feel like I have full license to be a kid again. When we go shopping, I dance with her to the music playing on the speakers. When we are getting groceries, I run as fast as I can and scream "woo hoo!!". I know if I were to do these things by myself, I would appear to be a complete lunatic, so I really cherish the opportunity Charlotte has given me. She's reminded me how much better life is when you're having fun!

I encourage each one of you reading this to try and find opportunities for fun in every day situations. It's easy to go into autopilot and just function through your day, but if you try and overcome that autopilot and do what just "feels right" every once in a while, maybe you'll enjoy it!

Charlotte is still pretty young, and even though her idea of fun right now may just be to blow a raspberry in the air, I think she's onto something. These experts would tend to agree:


Sort:  

I agree kids are joy and fun of our lifes i have two kids boy and girl

It's true we learn more from them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79