Lesson #3 from my Daughter: Be Curious

in #life6 years ago

When my wife and I were expecting, I was so excited about all of the things I would one day teach my future daughter. While that excitement still remains, I have been pleasantly surprised to find out that I have much to learn from this little one.


Lesson 3: Be Curious

One’s curiosity is something that is seldom discussed, but it is hugely important. We owe so much to the curious minds of past generations, who step by step, asked the questions and leveraged their own curiosity to find the answers we now typically take completely for granted.

When I walk with my daughter into a new room, she examines every inch of that room within seconds, and it doesn’t stop there. She grabs every item she can and rotates it, tastes if, squeezes it, rubs it, taps it - does anything she can to find new, undiscovered properties.

I’m not stating my child has some miraculous gift, this is something most babies are born with. It is our human condition to be curious. I think along the way people tend to forget this. There are so many unanswered questions in life that require deep and analytical thought and research, and sometimes it’s just too easy to come to an assumptive conclusion.

Watching Charlotte’s curiosity has reminded me of the importance of it and I’m now committed to protecting that flame she has shared with me.


Sort:  

İf we can see new things as much as she can, we would have curiosity too. We don't see any new thing anymore.

So true @lambofgod35. I wish I could see the world through her eyes sometimes, but then again, I probably wouldn't be able to comprehend it the way I can today ;)

Such an adorable baby

Bayi mungil yang lucu.. Anugrah dari tuhan

may I ask what you are "brewing" at home as written in your profil? :-) sounds interesting

Hey @barsic, I brew my own beer. I will share some of my recipes/beer labels soon ;)

that's awesome, I'm really looking forward to it! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78