Commuted Life Sentence of Cocaine Kingpen Proves With God All Things Are Possible

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This post was sparked by a headline citing Kim West requesting POTUS Trump commute the life sentence of a cocaine kingpen, based on a video that came across her social-media feed.

And, seemingly, just like that; today, POTUS used the stroke of the pen to oblige. And just like that, today, after serving two decades in a federal prison, Alice Johnson is a free woman.

I have to admit, my first reaction was an emphatic, Are you kidding me?

I’m sure there are many persons in the prison population who are model candidates for a commuted sentence; but, learning that an admitted drug dealer wants a pass, has my human spirit saying, ‘I’m not feelin’ it’…lol…

Today’s announcement that Johnson had received the mercy of the highest ranking official in the U.S. made me smh in befuddlement, saying, “What’s POTUS thinking? He hates drugs. He hates drug dealers. What is he doing?”

This blatant going against the grain of everything Trump led me on a personal mission to see what warranted this exception.

I have to say I wasn’t really ‘moved’ by the phone interview, as I stayed mindful of why Johnson was incarcerated. Her transactions supported a business that destroyed families, and turned communities with people who had decent jobs into what became infamously regarded as “da’ hood”.

But, I digress and am descending from my high horse all in the same breath.

You see, what turned my whole perspective around, and made me rethink my stinkin’ thinkin’ was West’s personal statement detailing her compassionate belief about prison reform.

In the few minutes that I listened, I took pause and remembered, that in life we have all made some less than ‘stellar’ choices. And, while they may not have been illegal, they were a result of being young and lacking wisdom, or, as in Johnson’s case, desperate and disregarding of consequences based on actions. Worth noting, Johnson was in her early 40s when she was imprisoned, so she wasn’t young; but, what gave her case special attention was that she was a first-time offender carrying a life sentence without parole. Anyone who says they have lived a perfect life of no regrets is either ‘fool’ish or not telling the truth.

So, instead of Alice Johnson’s video; I’m including a clip by West who shares her epiphany which sparked her fight for the release of Johnson. It was the first time I could ever remember hearing this reality-tv celebrity speak; and, her words expressed with great clarity and sentiment why she took on the cause.

Best regards for all involved. It’s not every day children get to welcome their mother home from the ‘grave’.

But, I want to end on one final note: It is difficult to make 100% peace with today’s stroke of the pen; because of the destruction crack-cocaine did to populations nationwide a few decades ago. Crack-cocaine was to the 80s what the opiod-epidemic is today; devastating.

I’m sure I’ll settle it once and for all after I pray and process over the next few days as this topic comes to mind. But, for now, if I had six kids, several of them appearing old enough to work, being an example for them of what hard times can bring, would have trumped dealing drugs.

I guess it’s because I know that she had a gambling addiction that had to be fueled; and, the dealing was as much, maybe even more, about feeding her addiction than her kids.

But, this last comment crosses over into the judging lane; and I know too well what God has to say about that: Judge not, lest you be judged…(Matthew 7)

So, on that note, once and for all, FORGIVEN; and, glory to God for setting her free. As POTUS would tell you, he’s merely the vessel God chose to carry out this Divine Order.

Speaking of being chosen, Johnson became an ordained minister while incarcerated; and, served as a mentor to many in her time of imprisonment.

Again, best regards to all involved.

Btw, right click below to view the clip in a new window:

Peace.

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11