The Struggle Of A Skinny Girl

in #life6 years ago

images.jpg
source
The African society believes that a chubby child signifies good living and a skinny child signifies
malnutrition. Well, I don't think that theory applies to me, I eat like a termite. My name is Folashade, a
skinny girl with a big appetite, and this is my story.

Growing up as a skinny girl hasn't been easy, i literally had to grow a tough skin because of the booing
and jeering by friends and family. I am the only skinny girl in my family so I guess i'm special because
I'm being treated special by my lovely mum who never hesitates to tell me how skinny I am. She then
made a theory which is to ;

1)feed me with enough protein and vitamins

2)and make sure I'm okay healthwise.

But with all the efforts the skinny child still wants to remain skinny. Mum would be like "ebi baba e o lepa
mi o lepa mi o mo ibi ti o ti ri ti e" which means there is no slim person in your father's family likewise mine,I don't know where you got yr "skinny-ness"from. The Landlady gave me the nickname Ajongolo tp compliment my skinny-ness, when she said it, I was actually awed at the nickname and I thought it was lovely. I don't like errands but if anyone calls me ajongolo or Folashade ajongolo,the happiness I do have
at that moment is overwhelming. I would run the errand with joy and happiness within me. In my naive mind, I was happy because nobody called me lepa, it was a dream come true. Then the inevitable happened, I was playing with my friends when i heard Ajongolo, I rushed to meet the person that called me and the person turned out to be the landlady, she told me to get some stuffs down the street for her, as I was going I forgot what I was asked to buy, then I ran home with flash speed. On getting home, I heard her
telling her friends who ,I assumed, asked why I was smiling when she called me ajongolo, she told them that I did not know the meaning and it is her way of calling me lepa! Then it dawned on me that ajongolo means LEPA! I've been scammed "nomenclaturally"! That was my first heartbreak, it was painful. So I was called lepa nevertheless. I loved the name ajongolo because I believed it means a chubby girl(it sounds like it).
As years passed, different names were added to qualify the slim Folashade. The day I got the name slimfit and flatscreen was one of the most embarrassing days of my ironically chubby life! I was in SS2, there's this dark handsome guy in my class, who happens to be my crush. His name is Precious. That day I noticed that Precious was looking at me in a way that made me feel on top of planet earth. So in my girly way,wanting 2 impress, dabbed my #50 powder on my face and rubbed a glorious amount of lip gloss on my lips.

source9974f8097a2637363484d356bb230fba.jpg
My seatmate(Samuel) ,who happened to see my "foolishness" ,had his evil agenda for me. Meanwhile,I was lost in my mission of trying to impress. After checking my face in the small mirror I have, I took the courageous step that Moses took(okay am not sure if Moses did that) and walked to the front of the class mind u it's a class of 70+ students. Then Samuel who happens to be the inventor of bad names(may God save that guy!) shouted "Slimfit!!!" In my mind I was like "please Samuel,please..." but the naughty boy kept on saying "slimfit". The whole class was confused at first because no one knew what was happening. Then i heard flatscreen. Well ,they had to laugh at that because at that time,they all knew who he was referring to(ironically, i had the biggest boobs in class).
The silly boy even had the audacity to attach my name to it. He shouted," Folashade Slimfit",another guy
in the class joined by saying "Folashade flatscreen"! To crown it all! My crush laughed!!! Like he
f**king lauged .kuku kill me! I was like Mr floor could you pls swallow me! But i guess the floor was
enjoying the booing and jeering. That was how the nicknames "flatscreen and slimfit" were added to my list of nicknames.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54