I wish there was a way to know you're in the good old days before you've actually left them

in #life6 years ago

I absolutely love that saying.

35078406_315789832288374_8633136912116219904_n.jpg

The feeling when you look back at certain times of your life, and you’d do anything to have them back.
Yet when you are living them, you don’t realize that they are the big things you will look back on later, wishing you were still in them.
Ah, the human mind!

''When people are asked to name the single object, they would try to save if their home caught fire, the most common answer (much to the chagrin of the family dog) is ''my photo album. '' We don’t just treasure our memories, we are our memories. Our memory for emotional episodes is overly influenced by unusual instances, closing moments, and theories about how we must have felt way back then, all of which gravely compromise our ability to learn from our own experience. '' -Stumbling on happiness / Daniel Gilbert

''We don’t just treasure our memories, we are our memories. ''
That is one powerful sentence.
But think about it for a second.
You know the feeling when you hear a song, and so suddenly, you are immersed in the memory of where it came from, how you were and with who when you first heard it.
I love that feeling.
Today, as I was putting new songs in my iPod, I decided to go back in time and pick some oldies that I used to listen to during my younger years.
It reminded me of who I used to be back then, and each song has a particular meaning, which we ourselves have created.

Music is an incredibly power tool to literally relive past memories.
And as much as we can’t bring back the good old days, the memories it carries will never fade.

Sometimes it reminds me of the years during which I was living on the edge.
I wasn’t afraid of stepping in the mud, pushing my horizons. I was hooked to this adrenaline rush you get from experiencing life and seeing what’s out there, when you don't have a clue.
I’m still a young pup, but I now have an older soul. (Or I like to think I do)
I came a long way, but I never forget to give myself a tap on a shoulder.

And it’s funny because when you are living all of these things, you don’t realize the way you will see them in the future. Because the YOU you are now, will not be the same YOU in a year.
The biggest trip we have yet to do is the one inside of ourselves. We have to go back to our torches and try our best to brighten up the darker parts of ourselves, the parts that we have to try our best to accept and to love, during this trip. 🔦

I have spent too many years in the position of a copilot who is at war with himself.
But doing so was only making my aircraft head into the wrong direction.
I always waited that it ‘d hit the ground, before picking myself up.
joe4.jpg

Ironically, the paradox here is that we spend most of our lives in autopilot mode.
It is no wonder we find ourselves missing dearly the good old days!

However, there are ways to change the outcome.
It’s crazy how powerful our minds and brains are in terms of being human beings.

Surprisingly, even our capacity for resilience.
I’ve been mentioning a lot the concept of hedonic adaptation recently, but studies have shown that our physiological immune system is incredibly stronger than we think it is.
We have this absolutely incredible capacity to overcome and adapt to almost any tragic event that may strike us. Just as I’ve mentioned that the contrary is true. We adapt to all of positive life experiences.

The mantra that I pinned to my bedroom wall is the following:
''I create my own reality and choose abundance and possibility''

On this note, cheers to another year of creating what our future selves have yet to call
''the good old days''. ✯

Sort:  

For this Holloween you can go back to the good old days.
https://www.halloweencostumes.com/french-maid-costumes.html
🤣lmao

On a scale of 1 to 10. You’re an Eleven of helariousness.
You crank me up each time.
Please keep it up.
I wish they made a @mysearchisover laughter pill.

Only 11? 😜 lol
It's in the land of Trump! 🇺🇸 lol

Woww! "The good old days" are now!!
Thank you for this... I tend to forget... :P

Omg Sam!!!!
I actually thought of you today:P
I was like yes it’s been a little while I should go speak with him:)
You’re sweet 🙏🏾 thank you ☺️ 💗💗😘

I thought of you too :D haha, <3 you inspired me so much. I wrote a post yesterday about the good old days, on my personal blog, thanks to you!

Awwww you’re so sweet!
Wow that makes me so happy to hear so, I will have to check that out for sure:) 🤩🌟

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Never get tired of it!!!:)
Thanks so much xxxxx

This is very insightful and a good reminder to live in the moment, because that moment turns into a memory.
It can be such a good yet interesting feeling when reflecting on "the good old days", and I think you capture that feeling in your explanations!
Thanks for sharing 😏

Awwww you're so sweet Sarah Nicole! ❣
Thank YOU so much:) xxxxx
ps: your voice is incredible 💖

"I have spent too many years in the position of a copilot who is at war with himself." I had to read this twice and then I understood it! 😬 It is a good metaphor for life.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00