"How Can I Stop My Date From Checking Her Phone?"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Today's question involves something we see a LOT nowadays. Two people are on a date and they are checking their phones. In the case of this question, the young person says:

When I am on a dinner date with a girl (generally in her early twenties), how can I politely tell her that I am annoyed and feel disrespected when she unnecessarily uses her phone to send text messages to her friends? These are generally early dates - often first dates though some are second, third, or fourth. None of these girls are in exclusive relationships with me. So, we are not super close.

What are your thoughts - regardless of who's doing it? Do you tell people to stop, hint, or just ignore the behavior. Remember, they may be checking SteemIt, lol! My tips for this:

  • While I feel it may be rude, the type of date he describes invites this. Early dates should involve activities, like rock climbing or laser tag. Most people won't be able to check their phone when trying to climb up a wall.
  • Keep early dates short. The girls in his question may be bored from a lull. Keep the date short and avoid this.
  • Finally, if he feels this is poor behavior, see this as a deal breaker. Plenty of people don't check their phone, so find them!

Image h/t Pixabay

Sort:  

@steemquestions You are right. It is kind of a rude attitude to face the cellphone during dates. Though I haven't experience being on a date, but just imagining it, it is very disrespectful. If I am the guy, I would feel bad.

But then maybe it's the girl's way to say other than literally saying that she doesn't want the guy, or she has no interest on the guy or it just bores her at all. But nevertheless, at least she should have made a move that is not offending to the other side.

I guess, in a date, since both parties agreed to be on one, they should plan the date first instead of either the boy or the girl is the one who would exert effort for that event. At least, they would avoid those boring times.

I know that dates are usually those getting-to-know moments but at least tell your date some of your likes or dislikes beforehand.

That's it, I guess.

Nice question! I'll resteem and upvote it. :) Good day, @steemquestions

I feel you may be right in that it's possible the girl isn't interested in the guy and it's a subtle (and probably unintentional) way of communicating a lack of interest. If that's the case, the guy should be excited that the door closed quickly and move on.

Hahah. That's another way of saying maybe that, "We're not meant to be".

@steemguestions In my opinion if shes checking her phone during a date then either she has no interest in you and your wasting your time or else she has a phone addiction so expect that for the rest of your life if you ever happened to settle down and marry her! Eitherway the right thing to do is get up and leave, there are plenty more fish in the see that actually will enjoy your company you just need to trust yourself and have faith!
Great question by the way!
upvoted resteemed and followed!

That's an interesting way of looking at it @endamchugh! People could see it as a test and if the person passes, great, if not, move along. Thanks for your thoughts - good point!!!

And thanks you for the generous upvote its greatly appreciated @steemquestions
Peace and Love my friend!

This is bad behaviour that needs to be appropriately dealt with. Watch this video:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65941.77
ETH 3015.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75