Living in the Cloud - Suesa Rambles

in #life5 years ago (edited)

By peter_py on pixabay.com


Today, after about 10 years of using (my own) computer, it finally happened: I suffered significant data loss. Luckily, not in the password department (thanks @reggaemuffin for talking me into 1Password). Still, what I lost were 10 years of carefully categorized bookmarks.

Back when I switched from my first laptop to a newer one, I carefully copied every single url in my bookmark folder into a word file, which I then saved on an external hard drive. Not necessarily the fastest way to do it, but it was the only available option.

When I switched laptops again, Firefox had already implemented the Firefox sync, a wonderful feature that let me easily import my bookmarks, cookies, history, saved passwords, ...

Soon, I started putting everything in clouds. Firefox, Google, Dropbox, Grammarly, Steam, Origin, didn't matter. The clouds helped me a little bit transitioning between devices (which I really, really hate).

So, when my not-yet-2-years-old laptop decided to give me the second bluescreen for today, after already giving me some over the past few weeks, I decided to purge everything and start new with factory settings.

I have everything saved in clouds, right?

I didn't check if Firefox sync is correctly set up.

Apparently, it was not.

I'm now left to grieve hundreds of websites that were useful for something - but what? Why? What were their names? I don't even fully know what I've lost.

I know, I know, could have been worse.

... actually, yes, it could have been worse!

"There is no cloud, it's just someone else's computer." (Random quote from the internet)

While the above quote isn't entirely correct, there's still truth in it. All my data (probably a good chunk of your data too) is stored on other people's servers. Most are protected through backups, to avoid data loss, but ... what if something drastic happens?

"Won't happen", you say. But why? There have already been incidents where something small caused huge waves. I recently learned of the "left-pad fiasco". A programmer unpublished a lot of code, which resulted in applications using it crashing. (For more info click the link, I'm not a programmer so I won't go into detail.)

Breaking one small thing can have a huge impact.

What would happen if Dropbox suddenly lost all data entrusted to them?

1Password?

Google?

Sure, some might rejoice, as now their data isn't sold anymore. But how many of us rely on those services to keep our backups? How many of us still have physical hard drives to keep backups on? How often do you actually do backups?

We're telling newbies to keep their Steem keys safe, to protect their passwords. How well do you protect your password?

Still, despite losing all that data (which really devastated me or I wouldn't make a post, ffs), I will probably still not change my habits.

Ok, scrap that "probably", I will definitely not change my habits. Because I know I might do backups for a week, for a month, but not for longer than that.

I will keep living in the cloud, trusting several faceless companies to keep my data more secure and better backed up than I do. And I honestly already see the day coming when I will really, really regret that.

How about you?

From "The Simpsons"

Sort:  

That last image. Wow that killed me. Best timing for this meme ever!

I understand you, I also know how terrible it is to lose important information because of these technical details. As for the cloud companies, and the other platforms that store our data, such as crypto-social networks, it is always best to review the project information of each platform, to know how serious that project is. And even then we do not have a security guarantee, but at least we can start to discard platforms and keep the options that suit us.

I like to have backups everywhere of all the important information I have, I have 2 minilaptop where I keep my things, but I connect to the internet with my home PC, because we pay a local server that is in the neighborhood where I live . But in those two laptops I make sure to have all my important data backed up, and even then I'm watching every day of everything that can happen. Because they can end up happening things like what happened to your computer.

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "B&W Photography contest", "'Dream' -- 100 words free writing contest", and "Food Photography #2 contest", and win prizes worth 18 Steem!

Try 1Ramp Android or Web to easily participate in the contests or host your own.

Cheers!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86