Everyone's Journey Is Theirs To Walk, Not Yours.

in #life6 years ago

P7190670 (Resized).JPG

I had a chat with a friend yesterday over dinner and drinks about where we are and somehow she compared it to how our mutual friend is currently at (his juncture in life). I guess she was judging him or she’s judging herself (I’ll never know). Sometimes, we judge others because it makes us feel good.

But I digress.

So that conversation got me thinking that it’s tremendously difficult to tell people how they should live their lives. You can be the most inspiring and amazing guru on Earth and your disciple would just slip through the cracks once they slip up because of a nasty thought OR when going through an inevitable situation in life.

I really feel that we should all just live our lives, strive for what we want, just BE and make the best of every moment.

To have someone else’s opinion influencing our journey is just wrong. And to have our opinions alter other people’s decision in their journey is not a good idea. It’s like the journey keeps getting postponed because the direction keeps changing (just because you had thought about your friend’s advice).

So maybe a straight road is better than a winding one this time.

Yes, you may not learn a lot if you don’t take winding roads, but what if the winding roads are just there to distract you.

So maybe it’s not about taking the less winding road, but taking the road less travelled. Maybe the road less travelled is the one that’s straight (hahahaha…) and it's easy because we decide that life is supposed to be easy and not hard.

Too many times we hear people talking about putting in effort. It is as if putting A LOT of effort will help. But what if WHAT WORKS IS NOT THE EFFORT but rather DOING THE RIGHT THING?

Maybe the reason some people stay is because it’s the right thing to do for them. And some leave because it’s the right thing to do for them. Just like how I left an almost 20-year friendship because I really felt that it’s the right thing to do as I was no longer growing with them. I really felt that my growth will be larger and more beautiful if I left the group and no longer accepting what’s normal with them. And the day I told them, I felt liberated (and also I knew who were my real friends in the group then).

So go on your journey and go for life because that’s all there is. Those who walk with you until the end are meant to be in your journey from the beginning and those who don’t are just there to remind you that it’s ok. Either way, they put meaning into your journey - meaning that you use to navigate your way through this amazing phenomena called LIFE (Living In Excellence and Fulfilment).

Steem_Line.png

Nature always wears the colours of the spirit - Ralph Waldo Emerson
Don't forget to follow me @sueyin for more ways, insights and details on how you can always reconnect with nature.
Sort:  

Congratulations @sueyin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49