First, be well.

in #life6 years ago

coffee on the beach (http-::www.drinkingcoffeeallthetime.com:2013:05:clinical-data-from-mayo-clinic-coffee.html).jpg
image source

How many times have you thought about how you're living your life?

We all go through these periods where we question just about everything we do - why do we meet certain people, what we should be doing instead, how the hell we got here, etc?

But we also go through periods where we think about how lucky we are when we meet someone who's had it worse than us, or thank goodness we didn't make certain decisions that we'd otherwise regret, or how blessed we are to be in a certain job or relationship, etc.

I guess in moments of insecurity, thoughts like the above would surface - good or bad. It doesn't really matter. Underneath it all, we all just want to lead a peaceful and joyful life.

We play so many scenarios in our head. Whether it's about to happen or it has already happened, we keep entertaining those thoughts. I, too, am guilty of thinking thoughts about the near future and what has already happened in the past. We all do at some point. And it takes a certain awareness to snap out of it and be in the present.

There's one thing I realised when I snap back into the present moment: I realised we get really serious about the outcome. The most prevalent reason is this: we're not willing to accept anything other than how we want the outcome to be. For example, I'd like to have a good time with family and friends, but what if one begins to talk shit about something or someone, or another would start to gossip? Then what? Then I would have already wasted my time listening to mindless crap of course!

See how terrible that is. And I can't even control all of that. So what do I do? I just accept the fact that some people are just like that. It's the only way they know how to operate in an external setting. And the only way I know how to respond to people like that is to control how I respond to them. I can choose to not get involve in the conversation (meaning give less attention or energy). Or I can say it outright that I do not like that topic of conversation.

So to not take certain situations seriously, I'd see it from the level of importance.

It's really important that my emotions and energy are stable and balanced. To me, that is life. Without it, my life would go out of whack. So everything else is not that serious, but when my energy and emotions are out of whack, it becomes serious for me.

Now I understand when they say that we should just mind our own business. My business is my well-being. That is my business. But if my business is to change the world, change my family's thinking, change certain people, then I'm setting myself up to lose in the game of life.

I believe that we play the game of life best when we're happy, loving, joyful and peaceful. It's how we gain alignment with everything and everyone around us. It starts from within, not from the world around us.

Steem_Line.png

Nature always wears the colours of the spirit - Ralph Waldo Emerson
Don't forget to follow me @sueyin for more ways, insights and details on how you can always reconnect with nature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61