I'm not what I do

in #life6 years ago

I was just thinking the other day about the ‘successful’ people I know or know of. It really dawned on me that if they were to be stripped from all of their titles or entitlement, what would they be if they were asked just this one question: Who are you?

To add on to my rumination, this quote popped out of nowhere today. Then it made so much sense to me.

“Don't equate your self-worth with how well you do in life. You aren't what you do. If you are what you do, then when you don't…you aren't.” ~ Wayne Dyer

To be honest, I have a problem answering people on what I do or what I do to make a living. Sometimes, I’d say I’m in advertising, or I’m a writer, or a copywriter, or a trader, or a nature lover, or I’m into nature photography. Whatever it is, they all don’t sound or feel good to me. I’m not sure if it’s my indifference or I just don’t see a point in telling. Simply because I like to do many things and I still feel that there are a WHOLE lot of things I don’t know in this lifetime.

So what do I do? I just say whatever I feel like at that moment. But I don’t really mean it…

Does that make me a nobody? Yes! And I’m fine with it. Anything is better than having to slab yourself with titles that’ll just fade away after a while and you need to do whatever you need to just keep it up and running. OMG so tiring!

If only one day I can answer this whenever someone asks me what I do:

“I’m work for my happiness and joy. It has its rewarding experience. And it’s priceless.”

One day soon… 🙂

With that, let me leave you with a really awesome view from my balcony. I love it!

Twilight time.jpg

Steem_Line.png

Nature always wears the colours of the spirit - Ralph Waldo Emerson
Don't forget to follow me @sueyin for more ways, insights and details on how you can always reconnect with nature.
Sort:  

Beautiful quote. Don't worry about people but be yourself doing all the things you love. You are You it doesn't matter what you do. :-)

Thank you so much @mikitaly. Yes it's all about being me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56