On Starting Again

in #life6 years ago

It’s been more than 10 years since I’ve started my career in advertising. And because of it, I’ve rediscovered many things I’ve lost touch with since I was a teenager. Two really significant things are nature and photography. It’s what keeps me happy, patient and grateful.

Had I not known my ex-Art Director, I wouldn’t pick my camera up again. Had I not gotten myself stressed out with work, I wouldn’t see a point in rejuvenating myself in the jungle.

So right now, I’m at a crossroads again (not sure if it’s an appropriate word to use). After knowing that no matter what, I will need to earn money for my commitments, I think I’ve made peace with it. I am aware that there will be days when I’ll feel like giving up. And there will be days when I’ll berate myself for the life I chose and the choices I made. But you know what, it really doesn’t matter anymore. I think I’m bigger than that now.

I told myself just the other day that, we can all start all over again. We can always choose to have the kind of life we want to live and it begins with a choice. A choice to be kinder to ourselves is the most important but the least understood. That could mean letting go of people, situations, things, opinions, dramas, self-importance, etc (you get the point).

Whatever it is, I think I’m really at ease with where I am in my life now. Yes, I’m not a Creative Director or a Group Head. I’m not a world-renowned photographer. I’m not a naturalist. I’m not a ballsy trader. I’m not any of those that I once dreamed of. Because that’s not who I am (it’s probably society’s influence on me). I am just striving to be the joy, love and happiness anyone could ever hoped for. And that’s a priceless journey. Everything else is pretty much secondary or just complementary.

So I will leave you with this quote from Benjamin Button because now, I truly understand what it really means. Because I’ve had the privilege to live out the truth (some of it) of this piece of beautiful writing:

“For what it's worth: it's never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There's no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you're proud of. If you find that you're not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.”

Steem_Line.png

Nature always wears the colours of the spirit - Ralph Waldo Emerson
Don't forget to follow me @sueyin for more ways, insights and details on how you can always reconnect with nature.
Sort:  

@sueyin First off, the photograph is beautiful. Secondly, you express your words so fluently and vivaciously. Most people have difficulty in doing that and you accomplished it. I felt like you were feeling some very similar emotions I, myself, have gone through and gotten over, but you managed to get your point across so graciously. Keep up that great spirit!

Thank you for the support @jennifer78 :) So nice to have someone out there who understands my writing from the heart :)

@sueyin writing from the heart is always the best way to go! It's more powerful and gets the message across much better and it also touches your readers! :) you nailed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59