You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Talking to homeless people taught me some very precious life lessons

in #life6 years ago

Now this is a great and valuable post on Steemit! I took the liberty of resteeming it.
When I was young I'd randomly chat with homeless people. What I learned back then was, that homeless people need to be treated with the same respect as you would like to be treated with. Right now I am living next to a shelter for the homeless and know that the difference between them and me are pure circumstance. I'm not better than them. Their fate is just a different one.
But I was without a home once for a period of time and lived off 1 DM a day. Those times gave me perspective. And ever since gratitude became an instinct.
Those who treat others badly because of their misfortune should experience the lowest lows of life. It might help them regain their humanity.

So thank you for this valuable post and have a good evening :)

Sort:  

Hey dear @sunra! :)
Wow, thank you VERY much!! I appreciate your lovely comment and support from all my heart! Very touching words! Thank you for sharing your story with me!

I am really glad to read you're one of those (unfortunately) rare fellow people who chat and care for the homeless and learn from them :)
You're absolutely right, they want and deserve to be treated with the same respect than anybody else! They are often great people and it reall only is a stroke of fate that made them end up in this situation.
Living next to a homeless shelter must be very touching and also bring you interesting encounters and chats as well. They really can be happy to have you around! :)

I really like your point of view, the way you treat and see them and that you are aware of how precious every human being is, no matter what social class they are. There should be more people than you <3

Wow, I am really impressed, touched and amazed by how you have been without a home and lived off 1 DM a day and yet managed to see the good things and learn some very valuable lessons from this time! You're really a strong and great person, do you know that?
I never was homeless, but almost lost my apartment during my job training (because the financial support from the offices came WAY too late...afet 7 months.. and I needed to sue them in court to get my money) and I also lived off very, very less money a day. Sometimes I didn't even really know if I would be able to buy some food the next days. But I am so happy I had this time, as I also learned to be a real survivor, how to live off almost nothing and to be very grateful for everything I have.

"Those who treat others badly because of their misfortune should experience the lowest lows of life. It might help them regain their humanity."
YES!!! Absolutely agree! If they would have to walk in their shoes for only one day they would be so lost and desperate. And I am sure they would never ever judge them again. It's sad how a lot of people are so judgemental, rude, disrespectful and even lost their humanity, as you said!

But it's people like you that give me hope! Thank you so much for that! And thank you from all my heart for your valuable comment, your wonderful and heartwarming words and touching story and your altruism! And of yourse your support, which makes me very grateful! :)

Have a good evening and coming week, too! :) <3

Vielen Dank für das Kompliment :) Aber ich müßte noch etwas hinzufügen:
So wie die Welt sich gerade entwickelt wird es nicht anders kommen, als das die Menschen in aller Welt werden lernen müssen, ihre Menschlichkeit wieder zu entdecken. Viele, denen es heute gut geht, werden die unerbittliche Kehrseite erleben. Und für die Unvorbereiteten wird es ein großes Drama sein.
Aber es scheint auch so, daß diese Phase kollektiv durchgemacht werden muß. Wir haben uns so sehr von allem Wahren entfernt, daß es mir scheint, eine große "Zurechtrückung" ist unabdingbar. Da wird es für diejenigen, die schon ein helleres Herz haben leichter sein.

Aber ich bin zuversichtlich, daß das große Umdenken gut ausgehen wird.

Noch einen schönen Frühling auch an dieser Stelle :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73