You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inside Australia's Private Prison Industry - Tales From The Dungeon!

in #life7 years ago

Why did you feel comfortable living with the ex-convicts? Were their offenses non-violent in nature? The stories are great, but is it possible some are exaggerated or less frequent than the anecdotes would imply? For example, maybe the heroin within the prison walls is limited to a small subset of the population.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your comment!

To answer your 2 questions:

  • 1: As to why I felt comfortable living with ex-convicts - I am a very confident person and have lived enough of life to understand it is not easy to be human. Many convictions were for non violent offences but not all... many ex-convicts became accustomed to violence in prison... =(

I like adventure and am fascinated by people! I can see positives where most other people don't even want to look. There where times when I did not feel safe but I know to handle myself when I need to. My room was always barricaded at night and I had a speargun and motorcycle chain under my bed. LOL!

My spirit of adventure tells me I need to take Steemit to the slums in Indonesia this year!

  • 2: You asked if the stories of drug abuse were over exaggerated - no this is definitely not the case! I have travelled all around the world and drug abuse and its negative impacts are global. I have many more stories to tell on Steemit.

I did not even relate 5% of the stories I heard at The Gatwick in this post. I did not wish to detract from the issue of private prisons. There are far worse stories I could tell if this post were just about drugs.

During my time in The Gatwick Hotel I was stabbed with a needle by someone who was infected with Hep C and I saw the very dregs of drug addiction. I am only glad that I have never wanted to walk that path!

However I loved my time with these amazing people. I will write another post soon - as The Gatwick is shortly to be closed after decades of love!

Stay tuned my brotha! =)

Upvoted! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68541.87
ETH 3868.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63