Our lower nature

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Once Greeks famous philosopher Socrates was talking to his disciples.

At same time an astrologer arrived there and claimed that he could tell a person's character by looking at the face.

Then astrologer looked at Socrates and said, Shape of nostrils tell that this person have anger issue.

Listening to this Socrates disciples got angry but Socrates calmed them down and asked astrologer to continue.

Then astrologer said, Shape of the head reveals that he is definitely a greedy person. The composition of chin says that he is whimsical person. Shape of his lips and teeth tell that this person always incite people to rebel against the authority.

Even after listening to all this, Socrates rewarded the astrologer and sent him.

Disciples were surprised at this. They asked him reason to reward astrologer even when whatever he said was only negative things about him.

Socrates calmed them down and said, whatever astrologer said about me is true. I accept that I have all those negative points in me and that’s why I rewarded him.

But that astrologer didn’t recognize one thing.

He spoke all negative things but didn't stressed over the power of my conscience. He didn't said that with power of my conscience i keep control over all these negative things of my nature.

Lesson: Power of conscience has a greater power to control over our lower nature, however hardly anyone recognizes it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62