EMOTIONAL BLACKMAIL - Identifying The Subtle Forms and What You Can Do

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The act of using a person's feelings of kindness, sympathy or duty in order to persuade them to do something or feel something
When people in your life use Fear, Obligation and Guilt to manipulate you

Because this is a very subtle form of abuse, much attention is not paid to it. Often times, when we see emotional blackmail, we don’t even recognize it for what it is.
Because we want to stay in a relationship, or because we want friendship to continue, when it happens, we just make excuses like, that’s just the way he/she is.

I’m going to talk about emotional blackmail in two aspects

  1. When someone tries to make you feel something
  2. When someone wants you to do something (usually followed by a threat)

INDUCED TO FEEL:

People who employ this form of blackmail have used this on many occasions and know how effective it is, so they just use it as often as they can. Surprisingly, some people try to blackmail others and don’t even know the implication of what they’re doing.
When people try to get you to feel something, they often hinge the whole relationship on one thing, something that is nothing compared to what you have with the person.
Check out scenarios like this:

"Look what you made me do!"
“I thought we were friends, you didn’t invite me for your party/wedding”
“If you love me you will buy me…”
“You are the only friend I can ask for this loan”
“If I mean anything to you, you will come and visit me”
“So your boss, work, friend… is more important than me?”
“You’re just making your money and enjoying it alone, no problem”

In either of these scenarios, you’re supposed to feel guilty and start apologizing or just give in to what the person wants.

There’s another word for it – emotional immaturity!
What is not coming to pay you a visit, compared to the love she has shown you for over a year?
Because he didn’t return your call, he doesn’t love you anymore?
Come On! These are not even issues compared to the history of the friendship

Although an emotional blackmailer wants control over their victim, they often have little control over themselves. They may be feeling insecure and desperate inside, but some growing up is definitely needed.

INDUCED TO ACT:

Here the Blackmailer usually demands something the victim does not want to give, something the victim views as unreasonable and something the blackmailer believes they can get – if they apply enough pressure.
This aspect usually comes with a threat to either damaging something the victim cares about (example, reputation) or even hanging the whole relationship on the victim’s response. Some people even threaten to hurt themselves to pressure a victim into giving in.

WHEN YOU’RE A VICTIM:

People who fall victim to this subtle form of blackmail are “peace seekers”. They are usually willing to sacrifice the things they hold sacred or dear, goals, boundaries just for peace to reign.

They feel compassion or pity on the blackmailer and are willing break boundaries for them. Victims may even have low self-esteem and may be afraid to stand up for themselves.

Sometimes, victims find themselves to feeling powerless or trapped because each time they give in, they suffer a loss of their own self-esteem among other things.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

DO NOT allow yourself to be blamed for somebody else’s bad behaviors or poor choices.

Remember that giving in won’t make the relationship better, it only creates a basis for more blackmail in the future.
No one who truly loves you or respects you will threaten you to do something against your wishes.

Work on your self-esteem and defend your boundaries
Walk away or cut ties if it gets really bad.

As an afterthought, I decided to add a little giveaway.

How To Participate:

Comment on this post with a common statement/question people make to try to make you feel guilty, then make a funny reply to the statement/question .
Everyone gets something
Most hilarious reply gets the highest reward

Sort:  

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Relatives and family friends say
Your mates are getting married and you will be their best man, when is your own coming?

Response
When the job offers for best man finish.

lol...
Nice one

"Look what you made me do!"
“I thought we were friends, you didn’t invite me for your party/wedding”
“If you love me you will buy me…”
“You are the only friend I can ask for this loan”
“If I mean anything to you, you will come and visit me”
“So your boss, work, friend… is more important than me?”
“You’re just making your money and enjoying it alone, no problem”

True they happen real often.

DO NOT allow yourself to be blamed for somebody else’s bad behaviors or poor choices.

Exactly! Always try to stand your ground!

Now this is one I don't like when people say it to me...

You have forgotten about me already, no calls and no chats.

My reply

Did you call me and I did not pick up? or did you send me a message and I did not reply?

This one is very common.
What I usually reply is that it's a two way thing, so let's apologize to each other

I am a Goal keeper so most question I get is

Dickie didn't you see the ball coming towards you??

No, I saw it going away from me

Hahahaha
Pele

Lol... Ahbi o

When a girl is with her guy.

She tells her guy:

"Could you be a darling and make me a great meal while am still on the bed???"

"Well;........"
The guy replies, wisely: "Ok my love, i will.... After all, what am i here for?" (Meanwhile, that's an emtional blackmail)

PS: do I have to be a cook to prove i am a darling???? (Funniness)

Lol...
Make your question vice versa o

Is dat part of d rule of d game?
Or, are u trying to support d ladies..... Lol!

Just like a mother telling her child

do you want me to die without seeing my grandchild??

We all experience this in our relationship with people and its really difficult not to fall victim

So so true. This one bad sha

Lady: you call yourself a man, yet common 5k you cant 'dash' a girl..

Mey: Shebi it's not your fellow ladies that are hammering on Steemit? 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67298.41
ETH 3750.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70