Scottish Slang - What Does It Mean...?

in #life6 years ago

Untitled design (4).png

Hi Steemit!

I hope you've had an amazing weekend, so far it's lovely here in Fife, Scotland. We have sun finally and most people here are thoroughly enjoying themselves by having barbeques, going to the local parks and town heritage walk sites as well as the beaches. It's a nice change.

That being said I wanted to talk about all things Scottish. Like most places there are varied dialects, Fife and Scotland, in general, is no different, but there are certain terms or words that are used all over. Some are basic, some are a bit erm, how do you say it - rude! but all-in-all they're words you will hear in Scotland.

Untitled design (5).png

Let's go:

Aucht | Not so much a word with a meaning, it's more of a sound emphasis. Example, someone says ''Joe's lost his job again, he's back on benefits, George answers '' Aucht, he's a waster any wah''.

Awfy | This means awfully. Example, this dinner is awfy braw.

Baws | This means male testicles. Example, The TV tonight is baws, there's never anything on.

Bru | This means fizzy juice. Example, ''I'm awa to get a can of bru, you wanting one?''

Brew | This means a cup of coffee or tea. Example, ''You wanting a brew Agnes?''

Braw | This means nice or lovely. Example, ''I saw the new advert for a coffee machine, it looks awfy braw. I might buy it.''

Balloon | This means idiot. Example, ''Sonia is a balloon. I've no got any time for her.''

Bampot | This also means idiot. Example, ''Tony is a right bampot. He went and crashed his car into a lampost.''

Dreich | This is an example of weather when it's dull, rainy, or about to rain and miserable. ''Example, What's the weather like outside? Aye, it's looking awfy dreich.''

Get Tae... | This means get lost. It's normally ended with the word ''Fu@k'' Example, ''Gary get tae fu@c, yur talking nonsense.''

Haud Yer Wheesht | This means be quiet. Example, ''Karen, haud yer wheesht, you'll cause trouble.''

Peely-Wally | This means someone who is or looks ill. Example, ''Anne, you're looking awfy peely-wally - are you feeling ok?''

Reeking | This means something that's ''stinking'', ''ugly'' or ''not nice''. Example, ''My mum bought me this jumper, it's pure reeking.''

Radge / Raj | This means get angry or someone whose a live wire. Example, ''Walter is acting pure radge today.''

Scran | This means eat or munch. Example, ''I'm starving, do you want to go for a scran? ''

Tidy | This doesn't mean tidy, it means nice-looking. Example, ''That guy over there is looking tidy.''

Wee | This means small. Example, ''I'm going for a wee dram.'' It's worth noting that others who try to use it, use it in the wrong context. You do not say ''I'm going for a wee, small dram''

Have there been any other scots words or sayings you've heard and wondered what they mean? If so comment below and I'll answer them for you.

Edit: I have been asked to 'prove' that I am a real person, so here you go Steemit lovelies, this is me, just a quick snap, taken while working - you can also find me offsite on Instagram where I will post my picture with the Steemit badge username is sweetelyseuk

Untitled design (3).png

Love, Elyse

Copyright: All images photographed, taken and owned wholly by myself

Sort:  

The only thing I know about Scottish lingo is from the movie Braveheart and it may not be that accurate. Hahhaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68