Secret to Happiness & My ''Reverse'' Bucket List

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Happy Weekend Steemit!

-Untitled design (4).png_

I, like many others, have considered making a bucket list. But what I would put on mine? Sure, I've seen some people who dream of taking a worldwide trip on motorbikes or roller skates, to living wildly in the Amazonian jungle and for the most part, I am so awe-inspired by their passion for life and their drive to just live in the moment.

But, and there's always a but isn't there...?

I'm far too pragmatic. It sucks. While I would jump at the chance of travelling the world, or living in the jungle or skydiving or living as a vegan, the truth is, I fully realise that life happens which is why at the age of thirty-four years of age I do not have a bucket list and why I probably never will. I've spent too long feeling down about not being able to achieve these major ''life goals'' that others do, you know, the ones they put on their list and check off as they achieve it?

However as I was sitting feeling sorry for myself (pity party for one) I started to think about what my life has been like and what I have, if anything, achieved during my life so far. That brought me to the idea of posting my ''reverse bucket list'' think of it as the Flash of the bucket lists if bucket lists were Captain America or Iron Man.

So, at face value, my life has been a pretty basic and unexciting. I thought long and hard about what the heck I could add and eventually I thought of twenty things! - TWO - ZERO-! Pretty blooming fantastic huh?

So here goes:

✓ Travelled to an island in a fishing boat for the day (Isle of May). The water was choppy, the life jackets were dubious, I am hugely fearful of open water and can't swim.
✓ I've climbed an inactive volcano.
✓ Found true love with a hairy-bearded man. Didn't kill him over the years for not cleaning up - win
✓ Lost a parent and a sibling. Lived through the grief and came out the other end a-ok.
✓ Spend a whole day sleeping. It wasn't nearly as great as I seem to imagine it will be every Monday morning.

✓ Had my nipple, nose, belly and ears pierced (before they were in style).
✓ Donated blood a lot of blood actually (until I was told I can't anymore).
✓ Researched my ancestry and found some pretty amazing stuff.
✓ Slept homeless. Came to realise you need to take ownership of your own shit because other's can't always be relied on regardless of your age.
✓ Dyed my hair wild and crazy colours (when it wasn't in style).

✓ Learnt to meditate and to introduce mediation to my three sons lives also.
✓ Abseiled down a small cliff wall (while desperately needing a wee may I add).
✓ Beat infertility.
✓ Been bitten by a spider. Three times. Still fucking hate the wee bastards.
✓ Ate cake for a whole day. It was amazing and I didn't regret it at all.

✓ Survived my lowest point. Realised I'm here for a reason.
✓ Slept out in snow all night. Why? Just because I like a challenge.
✓ Got tattooed. Regretted my tattoos.
✓ Tested my genetics. The best thing I've ever done for my health.
✓ Found comfort with being myself.

Untitled design (6).png

The bearded one (@jockery) and myself heading to Edinburgh!

Now that I've accomplished my list of twenty it's completely changed my outlook. I no longer feel envy when others tell me what their dream, fun-filled consist of because I know I've done pretty damned well so far.

I feel like I'm constantly giving myself an inner high-five for recognising the good things that I've accomplished - it's an awesome feeling, self-love. You should all try it.

Would I recommend this list to others? ABSOLUTELY YES!

So I challenge you all to come up with your own 20 (or more) reverse bucket list and see how it changes your life.

Edit: I have been asked to 'prove' that I am a real person, so here you go Steemit lovelies, this is me (today 6th June 2018) quick snap, taken while working - you can also find me offsite on Instagram where I will post my picture with the Steemit badge username is sweetelyseuk

Untitled design (3).png

Love, Elyse

Copyright: All images photographed, taken and owned wholly by myself

Sort:  

Nice one. Welcome to steemit!!!

Thank you @nad010286 appreciated! Hope you've had a great weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75