13 - Learn How To Kint With @sweetpea - The Basket Weave

in #life6 years ago

I really do wish I had more time to knit, but my days have gotten busier and time for hobbies and relaxation is hard to find! When I can make time for my interests though, I do! I love to knit while I watch TV or watch my son play and I always feel a little proud after I have completed a project. So, if you are looking for a pastime that’s both fun and rewarding, why not give knitting a go?

If you have been following my series on Learning To Knit with @sweetpea, by now you should have your needles and yarn all prepped and know how to cast on your first row of stitches at the least. If you are new to my series, I’ll add the preceding additions to get you up to date below. Today’s post is a little more fun and you will get to put the Purl stitch as well as the Garter Stitch in to practice.

I have recently started knitting a variety of blocks, which I am sewing together to make one large Afghan blanket. The block I am sharing with you today incorporates a very simple Weaved Basket Pattern. The pattern is very easy to follow and the end result is a lovely woven-like pattern.

All images by @sweetpea

The Basket Weave Pattern

Instructions:

Knitted in a multiple of 8 sts + 3.

Row 1 and all odd rows (wrong side): P3, * k1, p3; rep from * to end.

Rows 2 - 4 - 6  (right side): K3, * p5, k3; rep from * to end.

Rows 8 - 10 - 12 - right side: P4, * k3, p5; rep from * to last 7 sts, k3, p4.

Rep Rows 1 - 12.

Knitting abbreviations: 

K: Knit | P: Purl

Thank you for taking the time to knit with me! If you are just here for a read, thanks for stopping by, perhaps I have given you some encouragement to start a knitting project of your own in the future! If you are new to the series of Learning To Knit With @sweetpea, you can find more of my tutorials and patterns listed below:

01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch

03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches

04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch)

05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch)

06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1)

08 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw)

09 - Learn To Knit With Sweetpea: The Yarn Over/Forward Stitch (Used For Button Holes And Lace Patterns)

10 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: Three-Needle Bind-Off

11 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Circular Knitting  

PATTERNS by @sweetpea:


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Oooo, this seems like a fun/challenging activity for me to try out!

Oh please do!

I like yarn related crafts, @sweetpea. I think this is a good project for those of us who like learning new stitches but not necessarily making garments :D
Thanks !

Only my pleasure :)

@sweetpea, I loved to knit, too. I am a beginner and enjoyed it very much. But for some reason, I stopped knitting. Oh yeah, it hurt my wrist, and somehow when I came back from a month long vacation, I did not continue. I think I will start again! Thanks for the inspiration, my friend. Take care.

I am so glad you are inspired to take up the craft again. Enjoy and make sure to share your work with us please :)

Nice and good tip, aku mengambil manfaat banyak dari tulisan anda, good article

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Looks neat and well done, I won't knit myself but I have worn knitted wear in the past and it is always warm.

I use to knit when I was younger..... But I got bored. But I think I will go back and start again 😀
You make it look fun

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65