You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Is Divorce Better Than An Agonizing Relation?

in #life6 years ago

Being at the beginning of the end of a 29 year marriage, I can relate to this post. Going into a marriage with the mind set that divorce is never an option can be good because it creates commitment and willingness to work at a marriage and not run at the first sign of conflict.
It can also be a negative, by eliminating the consequences for actions. It can lead to the thought that "I can do whatever I want, because they will never divorce me."
When I told my mom that my wife and I were separating and probably getting a divorce, she was sad, but not surprised. We thought we had been putting up a good front, but in reality were only fooling ourselves. One of mom's comments that really struck me was, "It takes two to make a good marriage, but it only takes one to make a bad marriage."
Unless both people recognize there are problems, and then are willing to do the hard work and sacrifice to work through the problems, the marriage will continue in a declining spiral into new low levels of "normalcy".
A very difficult and complicated topic, as well as very emotionally charged for many. I have been considering blogging about my journey, to help others going through similar situations, and provide insight to people trying to help friends who are going through it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84