Thanks for Life

in #life6 years ago

thanksforlife.jpg

I came home and immediately the guy who cuts our grass came to me and asked if I had heard about my neighbor across the street.

Ummmm. I guess not. I had no idea what he was talking about.

Turns out that our recently moved was getting ready for hunting season with his extended family and fell while climbing a tree stand.

Broke his neck.

He is now a quadriplegic. As of this month, he will never walk again.

He will never ride his bike to our nearby lake, he will not hunt deer this season, he will not hike the Mountains, he will not surf ...

It has been unbelievable to me. Didn’t see it coming. Of course, we never do. But, really. Did. Not. See. It. Coming.

We say life is fragile. We know it. But then, somehow, after saying it and knowing it….we forget.

My husband asked him, “So…how are you doing?” And he responded with a hearty, “Well, I didn’t die.”

True story. He didn’t die. And we all get a chance to be grateful for the gift of life through the eyes of Nick.

P8140337-1.jpg

Sort:  

I have not hunted out of a stand since college 15+ years ago and stories like this make me so sad. There are dozens of them each year and it makes me want to figure out how to build a safer stand for everyone to use.

Plz help me with ur support on my posts

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice post... Plz help me with ur support

Posted using Partiko Android

And I tell you he still have hope and courage that he will get well ,with the answer he gave ,he is thankful to God for he didn't die and with that God will do something to remedy him soon .

Love the reply of that man [I didn't die ]

Congratulations @tanata! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62