Confessions of a Multitasker

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20171228_104959.jpg

I’m used to always being busy – moving from one task to the next. And since giving birth to Zara this practice has been on high gear. Derek and I have been blessed to have my parents here for a month so there have been lots of loving arms for Zara and Shalom.

I’ve found myself feeding Zara, cuddling with her for a moment, handing her off to Derek or one of my parents and then moving on to a new task. I’ve got a running To Do list in my mind and I have this need to check off as many of them as possible every day. You know – make the most of my maternity leave.

Yesterday, I found myself home alone with Zara and as I was holding her, I realized how little time I was spending truly enjoying these squishy, early moments of her life. She is our last child so I really need to soak in all her newborn perfection. So I laid down with her on my chest and was still. The To Do list raged but I managed to push it aside and be in the moment (and also catch a nap).

IMG_20171228_104928.jpg

It’s been almost one month since she joined our family and I cannot believe how quickly the time has gone! Don’t all parents say the exact same thing? In the midst of my sleep deprivation and multitasking obsession, I have only been vaguely aware of how much she has already changed. She’s not the 6 lb 14 oz baby girl that I brought home from the hospital.

So yes, there is work to be done and yes, my desire to accomplish our family goals is intense but I have to consciously remember to be still. These moments will slip by and I will regret missing them.

Are you a multitasker? What are your tricks to balance the obsession?

Kareen

Sort:  

@teamturnerlive, congrats on pushing aside your multitasking for a moment to enjoy your daughter.

As parents we will look back on the moment we had with our kids and have wished for more. Cherish these times!

You are so right! I already miss her newborn-ness :)

  • Kareen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55