Servant-hood

in #life6 years ago

Charles Schwab said that people skills are the highest paid skills in business. He said his smile alone was worth a million dollars. A great place to begin to understand and develop great people skills is in the book, “How to Win Friends and Influence People!” by Dale Carnegie. This will help you understand what you are doing that makes others love you and what you can do to help others love themselves. This is the second most sold book in history next to the Bible for a reason. Nearly all great men and women in all walks of life have read this book. It taught me that to be a great conversationalist, a person simply needs to be a great listener and ask questions. The number one topic people like to talk about is themselves and their favorite word is their own name. If you can learn to make people feel great about themselves they will love you for it. We each can make a major difference in each other’s lives if we make a goal of being the first person to say someone’s name. If you know someone’s name, say it; it may be the only time they hear it that day or even that week.

I was told by my mentors that the most important work I will do in my life is that which I will not be paid for. It will be work that I do for other people and often it will cost me money to accomplish. I challenge you to become the best servant of others that your friends and family have ever known. Take this principle to your career and you will become the most sought after candidate in your industry. Each of us can be a catalyst for change; if we resolve to serve others in all areas of our lives, we will change the world.

Respect is perhaps the most misunderstood character trait in business. Respect is shown through servant-hood which communicates that we value another’s time and convenience so much that we are willing to put it above our own. We communicate this through our speech and behavior. I’ve had to learn to eliminate profanity and complaints from my vocabulary. This is proper etiquette that ensures all people feel respected in conversation. I aim to provide a positive environment which allows others to focus their attention on matters at hand. I try to ask, “Is now a good time for us to talk?” “Can I get you anything?"

In Japan, business is as much about manners as it is about profits. I’ve learned to remember names, be early to appointments, and be quick to return calls, texts and emails. I choose to inconvenience myself to serve and show my appreciation for others. I have become others focused with a servants heart…this has been one of the most rewarding lesson I’ve learned in life.CP.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64