Low Maintenance Friends

in #life6 years ago

Tonight, I’ve spent more than 4 hours just talking with my good old friends KP and MSN. We’ve spent most of our college years together. All sorts of things that normal college students would do, plus our fangirling days over our YouTuber crushes. They say the most memorable years of your life are your high school years - well, not for me. I believe the most unforgettable moments of my life happened during my college years.


Source: Pixabay

Back on my high school days, I transferred schools. From the 1st up to the 2nd year, I spent it in a Catholic school while my 3rd and 4th year was spent in a public trade school. I never really had much fun, I was bullied. Yes, I was bullied for some trivial reasons. Well, let’s not talk about that now. Maybe in some of my future posts. So you see, I never really had much fun.

During my college days, I switched departments too but that was fine beacuse I found some good friends. It was last 2009 when I met KP, we were both lining up for the slots available for shiftees of the IT department. She’s a Computer Science student who wants to be in the IT department while I’m from Civil Engineering department who wants to be in the IT department too. I don’t know what happened but we just clicked. We luckily had same schedule for the whole semester. The next semester, she introduced me to MSN. She’s KP’s classmate from some pre-major subject. From then on, the duo became a trio. During our vacant time at the university, we would just hangout in the blue bench and just watch some YouTube videos. We then became obsessed with Wong Fu Productions. When one has a problem, the two are always there to help and to comfort. Even tho we took up different tracks for our major, the three of us would still wait up for each other just so the three of us could eat lunch or dinner together or just have a good laugh together. We became inseparable until we graduated from college.

I came to Cebu even before the official graduation ceremony, KP came here too around 6 months later and MSN came here a year later. Even tho the three of us are all in Cebu, we don’t see each other that much due to our different work schedules. Later on the same year, MSN decided to go back to Iligan. From then, we haven’t seen each other. We don’t usually chat with each other too.

To my surprise, KP made a group chat for the 3 of us this week. MSN is coming to Cebu! We then chatted like the college girls that we used to be. Our corny jokes, fan girling chitchats - everything’ still the same. I was thinkinh that they’ve changed.That maybe the don’t want me anymore. But hell, I was wrong. We decided to meet each other tonight and had dinner together. Oh boy, you would never believe me - but we spent a looooot of time just talking ang talking rather than eating. We talked about our jobs, current status and even our future plans. We grew a little bit older, but our friendship stayed the same just like the way it used to be.

Our conversations now are very different, we used to talk about our YouTuber crushes, school stuffs, films and lots of fan girling. Now, we talk about work, responsibilities and even finances. Only one thing is constant in all of our conversations, our laughters and giggles.

I’m really happy that I found good people like them who loves and care for me genuinely. I am forever grateful for people like them.

Appreciator.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I hated school too. I was bullied, too. I am glad that you were able to put it behind you. I have found that the way to judge a good friendship is not how often you speak, or if you stay in regular contact, but how comfortable it feels when you do speak and meet up.

And it sounds like KP and MSN qualify here!

Family is important, but it's your friends that carry you in life.

Yes that’s true. You don’t really need to be in constant communication it’s more about how you feel when you’re with them. That even though they’re not always around, you know that when you fall down, there’s this people who would be much willing to pick you up and laugh at you. 😂

This post has received a 0.08 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

It is wonderful to have friends like that. And really GOOD friendships can stand the test of time, even if you are out-of-touch for some time! I hope you keep your friends for a very long time to come! 😊

#steemitbloggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77