An Open Letter To Mental Illness

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Dear Mental Illness,

Well it is not like we haven't talked in awhile. We talk continuously throughout the day in my head. We worry and over think to extremes together. We analyze the people around us and how they speak to us, and look for clues that we are not good enough. I am used to walking with you, together each step is taken. Each milestone in my life has been with you since I was very little. Through the good and the bad you have always been around, even though I don't like you. But what you need to know is that there is no "we" anymore.

It is now You and Me. We are separate beings. You live in my head, but I live in my heart, which is strong and willing to do anything it takes to not be a "we". I battle You with medications, acupuncture, pep talks, natural remedies, exercise and mindfulness. I cannot think of one thing in my life I put more effort into eluding except You. But do You know how much energy that leaves me to do everything else that other people do. Like have a relationship, family, job, hobbies, friends, dreams, goals, etc. And I know you don't care if I succeed in having any of those, trust me, I have seen You ravage each part of my life over and over. In reality they have had to come second just so that when I see them, I am at my absolute best and feel great when I see them. And while I do I hope that through all my energy I have put You in a quiet corner for just a little while so I can enjoy myself.

You do not make me who I am. Remember that. I use all my energy that I have left to make sure that You are just a part of me, but not who I am. When people look at me, they will not see You. When people talk to me they will not hear You. I have the control over that, and when I lose control and You take it from me, I am ready to battle and give everything it takes to get it back. I know that I am never going to be without You. I have accepted that. But I have accepted that I have the will to do better, and all I can do is make sure that when You win the battles, I win the wars.

Love, T.
IMG_6660.JPG

FE43C0C96BE7C7550AB7250FFDD124352.gif

FOLLLOW - COMMENT - UPVOTE - RESTEEM

Sort:  

A big Hello to the mental Illness :-D , If someone has something interesting and a constant friend might as well enjoy it. After all the whole world is looking for a friend .Here someone has one for free ;)
Welcome to Steemit Sweets . Upvoted and Followed :)

Thank you very much, and I agree with you! I will follow back!

@teggit Welcome to Steemit!
It is good to see you understand and acknowledge your illness. Some do not and go through life like a bull in china shop not understanding why their life is in chaos.
Best of luck in all your endeavors here.

I used to be the bull in the china shop, but I was young and didn't understand. I am lucky I had support to guide me. Thank you @joebrochin

@teggit: You are a very strong girl and I absolutely love about you this. U are beautiful and happy girl. Always keep this spirit in you. Love you @teggit.
Stay always blessed and happy.
PS: will copy this comment to HHG6

oh @shanu with beautiful people like yourself it is hard not to keep a smile on my face and be happy with you and the others as my friends.

Hello @teggit, I read your letter with an open heart. You got it girl... make sure you tell that mental illness that you are the Master of Yourself and You Rule Your Life not anyone or anything else. You are the Master of Your Life and You Shall Rule it without fear or confusion. Okay hun... you got this one okay.

By the way, you look so sweet... loving the haircut, curls and color... just the right length. My hair is very long, it can touch the floor if I sit down hahahah.... can't help but to comment on your lovely look... hugs from me always.
PS: will copy this comment to HHG6

Thank you @ainie.kashif. I think it is important that people address the fact that you can look "normal" but really there is so much going on inside your head.I appreciate your comment.

Wow that is a lot of hair, I imagine very heavy. My hair was much longer but I had to cut it as it was all dead. Now I am taking better care of it and will have it long again, but not to the floor haha.

What a piece of write up you made. It shows your will power to face any grim Situation and your mental strength you are already pocess.

Kudos and Keep it up

@angelro your comment is greatly appreciated and gives me more strength thank you.

@teggit - Congratulations on reaching day 7 of the challenge! You a true champ and a crusader for a true cause. I count you as one of my dear friends on Steemit (since day 1 in fact - yours lol). Thanks for accepting the invite to our group. :) We we have been richly blessed by you presence.

awe @rlt47 thank you. You have been such a great friend on here and great guidance. I am so happy you invited me to the group it has been amazing and so much fun to connect with great people.

hello @teggit, The best weapon to fight or to knock down any obstacle is to give him the fight until he defeats them. Good post, congratulations for achieving your 7 days of publication.
P.S. I will publish it in the Hello Hello Group 6

Thank you @rvag5 I will continue the fight with all my supportive friends in HHG

You are very brave for sharing this. I don't know you much, but I'm very proud of you, you deal a battle every day and I'm sure even when it sometimes might win, you will always have the strength to fight back and win again. I wish you lots of luck, love and support from this little corner of the world where I live :)

Thank you @mbell. It was actually good to write. It always feels good to acknowledge it which gives it less power.

Great wishes and hopes, I hope you can get your identity, be yourself, maybe get closer to the creator is one way that you can be better, hopefully your wish can be achieved in the near future, although sacrifices you have done very much, it will all you feel good when you are successful later, keep the spirit @teggit. We always support you

Ps: i'll copy to HHG#6

Thank you so much @denni.japro I am always trying my best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77