Nightmarish TRUE Scary Stories

in #life5 years ago


Nightmarish TRUE Scary Stories

I'll never forget the time me and my brother snuck out past our bedtime to explore an allegedly haunted house down
the block yes I said bedtime as I was only 10 and my brother Luke was only 12 when her parents said good night to us I
went to Luke's room and we took a couple hand-powered flashlights with us and hopped outside through the window
luckily his room was on the first floor those hand powered flashlights worked by constantly pushing in a little trigger
that would create light inside the lens they were noisy as hell but they were convenient once we were outside we just
walked down the block and in two minutes we were there it was rumoured by all the neighborhood kids and teens that the place was haunted everything about it was creepy the older more antique design of the house the isolation from the rest of the houses and the broken windows and rotting wood it seemed perfect for a horror movie we went around to the backyard this was all my curious and confident brothers idea I was scared the door was locked as expected I felt a bit of relief thinking we might just go home but my brother made a shocking move next he grabbed a plank of wood laying in the grass and began smashing the already chipped window eventually there was enough of an opening to unlock it and slide it up completely we hopped inside and began cranking those noisiest flashlights immediately after entering
the house we both picked up on the fact that it was like 90 degrees in there which was odd as it was a September
night in the mid 70s there was no graffiti or anything anywhere in fact it was relatively empty besides a few pieces of furniture that were clearly not worth taking along it seemed we were the first to enter the house shockingly or at least from the back we went upstairs to the main floor from the little den area and continued cranking the flashlights that's when we heard the slightest crack in the floorboards from right above us we both jumped I tugged for Luke to leave but he told me the place is old as hell it's just house noises I stopped cranking the flashlight at this point and I urged the Luke to do the same but he only called me stupid for suggesting something so ridiculous then there was another crack in the floorboards from above us he began walking upstairs I didn't want to go up there but I was not about to stay down there alone I followed behind him to the upstairs there was a door that led to a room right above where we were standing I begged him not to open it but he must have just wanted to be the big tough older brother he began to reach for the doorknob while still cranking the noisy flashlight but then he stopped I was confused I could see in the dark he was moving his ear up against the door listening for something silence then the most deafening nightmare-inducing moment of my life a single bang on the door from the other side send my brother staggering into the wall in pain covering his ear we dropped the flashlights and wrenched straight out the back door and back home we were so loud when we got back that our parents found us out we told them what happens but they naturally didn't care and rounded us both for a week two nights later I woke to the sound of something from outside my window and a glare of brightness sneaking in through my slightly opened blind I sat up and my heart sank when I realized it was the sound of the crank to my flashlight I stood up and looked out the window and that's when it stopped there was nothing but complete blackness out there after that I woke the next day barely remembering what happened and I still hope today that that part was just a dream.

Sort:  

Impressively scary, good old crank handle flashlights they always run out at innoportune moments.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @teknoeli! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73