My "Story" Pt 13

in #life6 years ago

Freedom; (Chains Forever Broken):

I could hear my own pulse, my heart was racing so fast. Pete opened the door and welcomed my dad and his fiance in, and immediately I began to weep. His arms were outstretched and the only thing I could do, was return the same action. His fiance was recording the entire moment on her phone, and although it was dark, it was a moment those who were there, will never forget. 

The moment I hugged him, I felt the weight of my entire past lift from my shoulders. It was as though Heaven itself had touched my soul. I knew in that moment that everything from the past was no longer there, it no longer had a hold on me, and I didn't need anything more than that. My dad continued to cry, and express his gratitude to Pete for letting this moment happen. 

Our friends who were there were fighting back tears themselves because they too, had just witnessed and were very much so a part of a miracle. The presence of God was so thick, it was almost indescribable. I can't explain exactly what I was feeling, so I'll do my best.

It was similar to seeing your newborn child for the first time. Or seeing a sunrise/set knowing that a new day is dawning and the sorrows of the past are gone.  The feeling you get seeing your bride/groom on your wedding day. So many emotions all at once, but also the feeling of complete peace, joy, and unfathomable, insurmountable love.

Now, that's not to say I didn't have a ton of questions, and a lot of "catching up" to do, so to speak, that would come at a later time. I definitely had my walls up, and had every right too, still. We weren't out of the wood just yet, and this was just the beginning of everything that was to come. 

We celebrated Sam's 2nd birthday as well as Fathers day, and it was the quickest, yet longest week of my life. They got to see me drum at my church, followed up by showing them all the sights to be seen in Colorado. We took them out to eat, went bowling, and did as much as we could, to try and stay busy, but also keep my mind off the ever beckoning questions I'd had.

As our time was coming to a close, we finally got the chance to have a heart-to-heart. I didn't want the moment to pass, and it needed to be done. I felt the presence of God in that moment, and because of that, I was able to once again, do the impossible.

I looked my dad directly in the eyes sitting in the chair across from me, and with every fiber of my being meant the following statement that I never thought I would utter aloud; 

"The past is in the past, and what you did, destroyed my life. I want you to know that I forgive you for everything that you did. For obvious reasons, you and I will have to build trust and it wont come easy. I am not who I was, and God has truly restored my life. The entire reason we're even communicating face-to-face, is because I was listening to Him. He has guided this entire thing, and He will continue to. The minute you break my trust however, I will drop you faster than you can say you're sorry. It sounds harsh, but it is for the best and I want you to know that. I am no longer that 8 year old girl, but I am willing to give you a fresh start, is that fair?"

With tears streaming down his cheeks, and a crackling voice, he agreed and began to say over and over just how sorry he was for everything that had happened. He told me just how much it meant to him that I let him back into my life, and how blessed he was to have the best Fathers day gift he could've ever asked for. He thanked Pete and I for listening to God, and acting in obedience, and agreed that this was our "new beginning". He promised he would never hurt me or anyone again, and he too, was a changed man. 

The time came for them to head back to Michigan, and we said our goodbyes. It was a week of much laughter, joy, celebration, heartache, and tears. It was finished. God knew what He was doing, and from that moment on, I finally understood the purpose of it all. The past darkness no longer had any power over me. I was set free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.90
ETH 3783.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54