## What I'ts Like Living With Cerebral Palsy

in #life6 years ago

People always ask me what's it like being disabled or being in a wheelchair and I say it's tough but I wouldn't change it, but believe me it has been a journey and for a long time I've struggled to accept it but we as disabled people don't have an easy time of it I mean imagine leaving your house knowing you may have to face somebody staring at you or them calling you degrading names which remind you of your disability or of something you can't do. It's a horrible feeling. One memory that always sticks in my mind is when a boy crossed the road and spat in my face then told me I could do nothing about it, afterwards I felt so low and I believed, I I used to always think I'm going to get him back.
There are so many challenges to face every day whether it's your body being stiff in the morning and having to take highly addictive painkillers for your pain every day, and there's nothing you can do about it. Even something as simple as carrying a drink through to your living room becomes a hard task and then getting pissed off because you spilt some I personally hate that one.
Social Situations for me were the hardest thing to deal with anxiety plagued me for years I couldn't talk to people I always thought they think I'm disgusting, I felt inferior to people and I had the attitude of I can't do this without even trying that all changed for me when I had a major operation witch after 6 weeks in hospital and intensive physiotherapy in which i learned to walk again. I gained confidence, I felt like a new person I was the fastest recovery the hospital had seen I no longer needed a wheelchair. The only downside was it was not going to last forever at the age of 21, 22 it started to go downhill I've lost the ability to walk for long periods i suffer with neuropathic pain struggle to get dressed carry objects even the simplest tasks for an able-bodied person can be a difficult and painful task for a disabled person so PLEASE BE HELPFUL AND THINK BEFORE YOU SPEAK Because one thing I would say is that being disabled makes you treat people with more respect because we have had the shit end of the stick from the start but we all have to play the cards we are dealt.

Thanks For Reading
@Thatdisabledguy

189994_110312235715407_7196191_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73