Thoughts on mountain, skiing and training

in #life6 years ago

The French Himalayas : the Alps

“My mind is in a state of constant rebellion. I believe that will always be so.”
-George Mallory

When I was three years old, my father brought me to Val Thorens. He lives there from December to April and I had the chance to ski between two and five weeks a year with him. I loved it and quickly learned to ski off-piste. The sensation of snow under your feet is unbeatable (cc @surfermarly).

For years now, I roamed the Belleville's and Maurienne's Valleys without believing that skiing was an extreme sport; for me, it's just focus, self-confidence, and experience. Focus clears the mind, self-confidence prevents panic attacks and experience sets up automatisms, ie. saving lives during unforeseen events. I'm trying to translate these thoughts into my everyday's life.

20180113_111233.jpg
Not that far away is French's Everest: the Mont Blanc

I'm back skiing

"Hard training makes war easy"
-Foreign Legion's proverb

This year, one of my goals is to get my ski instructor's license. I tried once two years ago but I wasn't in a good physical and mental shape yet. This time I want it bad!

So, my program is :

  • Slalom training in the morning and physical training in the afternoon three days a week
  • Climbing and/or swimming once a week after working at the ski rental
  • Off-pistes and family time during weekends

I'd like to find some good leg exercises, and I know nutrition plays a role too. What are you guys thinking @jcudjoe ?

I'd be pleased to share more picture of the Alps, I'll probably do so next week to participate in some photo challenges, has anyone seen mountain photo challenges on steemit yet ?

20180113_122953.jpg
Yesterdays first off-piste of the year, cheers from the snow bureau

Sort:  

skiing is one thing that I never became good at but always wanted to keep working at. I do know that it takes a tremendous amount of leg strength, core strength and stamina in order to be a superb skier. Recently I trained a semi pro snow boarder who wanted to gear up for the olympics. there were a lot of different trials and tribulations that we went through in order to get him ready. My next post is going to be about working out your legs, why it's good for you & I'll have some solid workouts as well. I'll post it monday morning and tag you, I look forward to you trying it out and your feedback!

Nice ! Thanks, I'll look into it this week

Amazing photos of the ski slopes!

Thanks ! They're all from the French Savoie area. Have you ever been there ?

That would be amazing to go..no never been there!

I hope you'll have the chance to see it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68