Snowboard Diaries: The Snowboarding Struggle Is Real

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My snowboarding attempt started late in life and I didn't have much help along the way.

The few friends who offered help either spent about 5 minutes with me or said "I don't know, you just kinda do this."

As helpful as that was, I bumped into an acquaintance in March 2017 as we geared up for a game of indoor hockey.

20171216_105006.jpg

"Where did you get that bruise?!"
"Snowboarding"
"What? Do you need someone to help you"
"I don't know... to be honest I am kind of done at this point. I can't get on my toes, I fall off every chairlift and I just don't enjoy it. I think I might throw in the towel if I haven't figured it out by the end of this season".

He then went on to tell me he had shown a few people how to successfully board and if I was willing, he would take me up to the hill.

20171216_104956.jpg

One week later we hit the slopes. Tom got in front of me, unstrapped his snowboard, grabbed both of my hands and yanked me forward onto my toes.

Within an hour I was doing S-turns. Something had finally clicked.

I showed my best friend, the other half of our 'Chair Lift Queens' duo (a nickname honouring our wonderful chairlift dismounts), what I had learned the following week and she too picked it up briskly.

Fast forward to the beginning of this season. Both Chairlift Queens now have a season pass and have been making genuine progress. In fact, without talking too soon, we have not had one failed chairlift dismount this season.

20171216_105015.jpg

For the first time in several winters I am enjoying snowboarding.

Sort:  

I have always wanted to try snowboarding. I don’t go to the slopes very often and when I do, I end up deciding to use the skies I own instead of renting a snowboard. The thought of having to learn how to snowboard also pushes me toward just using my skies since I can just jump on those and go. Glad you are having fun!

Oh man. I only snowboard. You should make the switch. It will be worth it.

It is never too late, but it is a tough one to pick up! You should try it sometime :) I wish I could ski but my knees will not allow it!

I've been snowboarding since the early 90's, I took no lessons as back then snowboarding was a new thing. I always tell newcomers to the sport to keep their head up, look where they want to go on the mountain and your body will follow as your eyes focused on the horizon promotes natural balance in the body. Makes me laugh when I see instructors holding newbies arms and when they let go the first thing people do is put their head down and it's matter of time before they face-plant.

nice to see more snow action on steemit, we need a place to make it easy to find snowboard content like with #steemskate thing. cool vid keep em coming. and sub to me for lots of snowstuff if you like(more of a request than an order but you get my drift) eeeeoooohhhhh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56